Eighteen set to be enshrined in N.Y. Boxing Hall of Fame

Hector "Macho" Camacho will be inducted into the New York State Boxing Hall of Fame. Timothy A. Clary/AFP/Getty Images

The New York State Boxing Hall of Fame announced its 18-person class of 2016 this week and it is led by the late Hector Camacho Sr., who was also elected to the International Boxing Hall of Fame and will be inducted in June.

Living boxers who will be enshrined are former welterweight titleholder and 1986 New York Golden Gloves champion Aaron "Superman" Davis (49-6, 31 KOs); Rochester's former junior welterweight titleholder Charles Murray (44-9, 26 KOs); Bronx two-time lightweight title challenger and 1970 New York Golden Gloves champion Vilomar Fernandez; and New York’s former lightweight title challenger Edwin Viruet.

Posthumous inductees include former three-division titlist “Macho” Camacho (79-6-3, 38 KOs), who was from Puerto Rico but grew up in Spanish Harlem and made his name in New York; also included are four Brooklyn fighters: former world middleweight champion Rocky Graziano (67-10-6, 52 KOs), former lightweight champion Rocky Kansas (62-11-6, 38 KOs), former bantamweight titleholder Joe Lynch and former top welterweight Joe Miceli.

Non-participants being enshrined are International Boxing Hall of Fame executive director Ed Brophy of Canastota, New York, Bronx promoter Joe DeGuardia, former New York State Athletic Commissioner and media personality Randy Gordon of Melville, New York, and Queens manager Dennis Rappaport.

Posthumous non-participant inductees are Bronx manager Howie Albert, Manhattan trainer/cutman Freddie Brown, New York City television commentator Howard Cosell, Manhattan former boxer and referee Ruby Goldstein and New York City manager Jimmy Jacobs, best known for co-managing a young Mike Tyson.

"This is another very strong class of inductees," NYSBHOF president Bob Duffy said. “We are honoring New York's finest in our sport. This is all about recognizing great fighters, as well as others involved in boxing, from the state of New York."

Each inductee will receive a custom-designed belt signifying his induction. Plaques are on display at the New York State Athletic Commission offices.

The inductees were selected by nominating committee members Jack Hirsch, Steve Farhood, Bobby Cassidy Jr., Don Majeski, Henry Hascup, Ron McNair, Angelo Prospero and Neil Terens.

To be eligible, boxers must be inactive for at least three years and all inductees must have resided in New York for a significant portion of their boxing careers or during the prime of their respective career.

The fifth annual induction dinner will be held April 3 at Russo's On The Bay in Howard Beach, New York.