FAB 50 National Champions, 1952-2012

Editor's note: The POWERADE FAB 50 is a continuation of the National Sports News Service ratings that began in 1952. These were the first national high school rankings and they were compiled by the late Art Johlfs of Minnesota. They were compiled for many years by the late Barry Sollenberger of Phoenix, who merged them into the FAB 50 12 years ago.


2012 -- Oak Hill Academy (Mouth of Wilson, Va.) (44-0); HC-Steve Smith; ESPN-USA-NPP.--On their way to setting a school record for wins and their seventh FAB 50 title, the Warriors defeated teams from 13 states and the District of Columbia and Canada, including five FAB 50 ranked teams. No. 2 Findlay Prep captured its third ESPNHS NHSI title in four years with a thrilling 86-83 overtime victory over No. 9 Montverde Academy, but it wasn't enough for the Pilots to hop unbeaten Oak Hill. The common opponent factor (with Oak Hill easily beating La Lumiere), Findlay Prep's inability to avenge the loss to La Lumiere, and the manner in which they defeated Montverde Academy all played a factor. Leading the way for Smith, now with a 27-year 860-53 record, were 5-foot-11 point guard and McDonald's All-American Tyler Lewis, a North Carolina State commit, plus 6-foot-5 Jordan Adams (UCLA), 6-foot-3 D'Vauntes Smith-Rivera (Georgetown) and 7-foot A.J. Hammon (Purdue).

2011 -- St. Anthony (Jersey City, N.J.) (33-0); HC-Bob Hurley, Sr.; ESPN-USA-NPP.--The Friars capped the school's sixth unbeaten season with their second mythical national title in four seasons and fourth overall since 1989. Naismith Hall of Fame coach Bob Hurley Sr., led the program to its 11th Tournament of Champions crown and 24th Non-Public Group B state crown. Hurley, who won his 1,000th game during the season, had a team that handed DeMatha (Hyattsville, Md.) its worst loss ever, 75-25, and beat four other teams ranked in the final FAB 50. Behind the stellar play of senior guard Myles Mack, a Rutgers recruit, and junior wing Kyle Anderson, the Friars defeated then No. 1 St. Patrick (Elizabeth, N.J.), 62-45, on March 9. St. Anthony's other two No. 1 finishes in 1996 and 1989 also produced undefeated seasons.

2010 -- Yates (Houston, Texas) (32-0); HC-Greg Wise; ESPN-USA-NPP.--The Lions became the first public school since 2006 to finish No. 1 and the first team from the Lone Star State since 2002. Wise's team, with depth and a signature full-court defense that never let up, captured its second straight Class 4A title and had an average winning margin greater than 40 points per game. Led by guards Joseph Young (Providence) and Brandon Peters (Western Kentucky), Yates set a national record with 15 consecutive 100-point outings and ended the season riding a 58-game winning streak. Yates defeated three state champions, including No. 2 Neumann-Goretti (Philadelphia, Pa.) by a point.

2009 -- Findlay Prep (Henderson, Nev.) (33-0); HC-Michael Peck; ESPN-USA-NPP.--In its first year as a school with strictly four-year players, Findlay Prep captured the first-ever ESPN RISE National High School Invitational with a 74-66 victory over Oak Hill Academy (Mouth of Wilson, Va.). Led by first-team all-American and Texas recruit Avery Bradley, Findlay Prep handed Oak Hill its only loss of the season after 40 wins. Bradley scored 20 points and had eight rebounds in the win over Oak Hill while other big contributors were seniors D.J. Richardson,Victor Rudd and junior Cory Joseph.

2008 -- St. Anthony (Jersey City, N.J.) (32-0); HC-Bob Hurley, Sr.; Rivals-USA-NPP.--The Friars capped an unbeaten season with their 10th Tournament of Champions title in New Jersey. It was the fifth unbeaten season, and third national crown, for 36-year coach Bob Hurley, Sr.,who guided No. 1 teams in 1989 and 1996. The team was led by Rutgers recruit and McDonald's All-American Mike Rosario while Hurley's son, Danny, coached the No. 2 team in the country at St. Benedict's in nearby Newark. Hurley Sr. was recently elected to the Naismith Hall of Fame, only the second high school coach ever selected following six-time mythical national title winning coach Morgan Wootten of DeMatha (Hyattsville, Md.).

To see the rest of the capsules for the all-time FAB 50 national champions and a detailed listing of every national champion going back to 1952, CLICK HERE.

Ronnie Flores is a senior editor for ESPNHS. He can be reached at ronnie.flores@espn.com. Don't forget to follow him on Twitter: @RonFloresESPN