All-State Basketball: Boys Underclass

Marcus LoVett Jr. (back) is leading a strong contigent of standout freshmen basketball players in Southern California. Sean Ceglinsky/For ESPNLA.com

The first of the various ESPNHS Cal-Hi Sports all-state teams is announced and it’s a look at the best from the Class of 2013, 2014 and 2015. Aaron Holiday (Campbell Hall) is in the front.


First Team

F Jabari Bird (Salesian, Richmond) 6-6

F Aaron Gordon (Archbishop Mitty, San Jose) 6-8

G Isaac Hamilton (St. John Bosco, Bellflower) 6-5

G Ron Lee Jr. (Oak Park, Agoura Hills) 6-2

F Roschon Prince (Long Beach Poly) 6-6

Second Team

F Dakarai Allen (Sheldon, Sacramento) 6-4

C Jordan Bell (Long Beach Poly) 6-8

G Elliott Pitts (De La Salle, Concord) 6-4

G Tyree Robinson (Lincoln, San Diego) 6-3

G D’Erryl Williams (Sheldon, Sacramento) 6-2

Third Team

F Noah Allen (Palma, Salinas) 6-5

G Mario Dunn (Salesian, Richmond) 5-10

G Eric Cooper Jr. (Lutheran, La Verne) 6-1

C Marcus Lee (Deer Valley, Antioch) 6-9

G Brandon Randolph (St. Bernard, Playa del Rey) 6-3

Fourth Team

G Jose Estrada (Cantwell-Sacred Heart, Montebello) 6-1

F Stephen Domingo (St. Ignatius, San Francisco) 6-7

G Kendall Smith (Deer Valley, Antioch) 6-3

G T.J. Wallace (McNair, Stockton) 6-4

G Jahmel Taylor (Sierra Canyon, Chatsworth) 5-11

Fifth Team

G Sage Burmeister (La Jolla Country Day) 6-1

G Eric Childress (Leuzinger, Lawndale) 6-1

G Jordan Mathews (Santa Monica) 6-3

G Max McCoy (Royal, Simi Valley) 6-1

G Lamond Murray Jr. (Bishop Montgomery, Torrance) 6-6

G London Perrantes (Crespi, Encino) 6-4

F Nicholas Smiley (Inglewood) 6-6

G Quentin Taylor (Palm Springs) 6-2

F Keonta Vernon (Tulare) 6-5

G Brian Wright (Mayfair, Lakewood) 6-2

Junior Player of the Year: Aaron Gordon


First Team

F Bryan Alberts (Village Christian, Sun Valley) 6-5

F Daniel Hamilton (St. John Bosco, Bellflower) 6-6

G Parker Jackson-Cartwright (Loyola, Los Angeles) 5-10

F Stanley Johnson (Mater Dei, Santa Ana) 6-5

G Jordan McLaughlin (Etiwanda) 6-3

Second Team

G Brian Beard Jr. (Lutheran, La Verne) 5-9

G Robert Berwick (Atascadero) 6-4

F Rezhaun Henderson (Alemany, Mission Hills) 6-5

G Jeremy Lieberman (Calabasas) 6-1

G Murshid Randle (Central, Fresno) 6-2

Third Team

C Damien Banford (Newark Memorial, Newark) 6-5

G Justin Bibbins (Bishop Montgomery, Torrance) 5-8

G Maleke Haynes (El Camino Real, Woodland Hills) 5-10

G Damonte Holiday (Hoover, San Diego) 5-10

G Elishua Jackson (Lakeside, Lake Elsinore) 6-1

G Spencer Mattox (Sweetwater, National City) 5-11

F Julian Richardson (El Camino Real, Woodland Hills) 6-3

G Devin Watson (Army-Navy, Carlsbad) 5-11

G Taelin Webb (La Mirada) 6-1

F Temidayo Yussef (St. Joseph Notre Dame, Alameda) 6-6

Sophomore Player of the Year: Stanley Johnson


First Team

G Tyler Dorsey (Ribet Academy, Los Angeles) 6-4

G Aaron Holiday (Campbell Hall, North Hollywood) 6-2

G Marcus LoVett Jr. (Providence, Burbank) 5-10

C Anthony Townes (Modesto Christian) 6-6

F Cameron Walker (Righetti, Santa Maria) 6-6

Second Team

F David Awolowo (Gunderson, San Jose) 6-3

G Sedrick Barefield (Centennial, Corona) 6-0

G Tristan Hunter (Perris) 6-0

C Broderick Jones (St. Bernard, Playa del Rey) 6-9

F Mason Shepard (Windward, Los Angeles) 6-6

Freshman Player of the Year: Marcus LoVett Jr.

Notes: We recognize that many top freshmen and sophomores have yet to fully develop their many skills and realize that many top young players are in strong programs and may be currently behind older players….

These players all played at the varsity level and these selections were based more on what they did during the high school season and very little on AAU or summer competition….

Thanks to managing editor Ronnie Flores and to longtime correspondent Harold Abend for assisting in the selection process….

We are releasing the Cal-Hi Sports all-state teams in boys basketball for the 34th consecutive season. We also have changed from previous format and will present at least a first five and second five for every team…..

Questions or comments? Email Mark.Tennis@espn.com.