Rudy Award Finalists Announced

This weekend, 12 prep football players were named as finalists for the High School Football Rudy Award.

Now in its third year, the High School Football Rudy Award is named after Notre Dame icon Daniel “Rudy” Ruettiger, who inspired many by overcoming the odds to play for the Fighting Irish football team.

In that same vein, the High School Football Rudy Award is given to the high school player who’s inspired their teammates, classmates and community, regardless of statistical performance.

The winner will be chosen by a selection committee on Jan. 15 and will receive a $7,500 academic scholarship courtesy of the Trusted Sports Foundation.

Fans can also vote for a Fan Favorite among the finalists, and that winner will receive a $1,500 academic scholarship.

The finalists are:

Quinton Anderson of Joplin, Mo.

Ryan Anderson of Kent, Ohio

Shane Halpin of Gulf Breeze, Fla.

Rashawn King of Raleigh, N.C.

Kaleb Mackey of Afton, Okla.

Andrea Marsh of Panama, N.Y.

Addison Marshall of Fulshear, Texas

Taylor McKnight of Canyon Country, Calif.

Dazmond Patterson of Plant City, Fla.

Matt Riniker of Luxemburg, Iowa

Juan Diego Temple of San Juan Capistrano, Calif.

Andrew Thomas of Chadds Ford, Pa.

To vote for one of the finalists, go here and click on their player profile page.