US team competes for the Brogden Cup

Connor Whipple from St. Andrew's (Fla.) will be one member of Team US at the 2012 Brogden Cup. Jimmy Hurlburt/ESPNHS

Teams from the United States and Canada will compete for the Brogden Cup at the U19 International Field Lacrosse Series at the University of Tampa Stadium, in Tampa, Fla., from January 6-8.

The United States will be represented by some of the most talented high school lacrosse players from the Upstate New York region. Team Rochester qualified to play for the Brogden Cup by winning the Brine National Lacrosse Classic this past summer in Maryland.

Derek DeJoe, a standout attackman from Fairport (Fairport, N.Y.) who is headed to Syracuse University along with Duxbury (Duxbury, Mass.) defender, Jay McDermott and Honeoye Falls (Honeoye Falls, N.Y.) midfielder Nick Weston will be members of the US team.

Other players representing the US are: Aquinas Institute (Rochester, N.Y.) senior Marc Pettrone, Tyler Aycock and Derek Jamison from Pittsford (Pittsford, N.Y.), John Maloney from Victor (Victor, N.Y.), goalie Blaze Riorden from Fairport (Fairport, N.Y.), Irondequoit (Irondequoit, N.Y.) goalie Eric Fischer and midfielders Connor Enright and Gunnar Miller, Conor Whipple from Saint Andrews (Boca Raton, Fla.), Duxbury midfielder Chris Williams and Penfield (Rochester, N.Y.) defensive standout Justin Rehm.

The United States team will be coached by brothers Craig Whipple and Andrew Whipple. The Whipple brothers are not strangers to the Brogden Cup. Their teams have qualified to play in this competition three of the past four years.

Canada will be represented by all-star players from the Ontario Junior Men's Field Lacrosse League.

The Ontario Junior Men's Field Lacrosse League began in 1980 with three Ontario teams. Since that inception, the league has grown from three to 22 teams.

The 2012 Brogden Cup Canadian squad features NCAA Division I recruits as well. Attackman Joe French will be entering Georgetown University next fall. Michigan has signed midfielder Kyle Jackson from The Hill Academy.

Another Division I upstart, High Point, has Nelson attackman Dan Lomas committed, while brothers Nicholas and Sebastien Beaudoin are headed to Robert Morris University.

The teams will face off for game one on Friday, Jan. 6 at 7:30 p.m. Game two will begin on Saturday, Jan. 7 at noon. Game three will decide the Championship on Sunday, Jan. 8 at 9 a.m. All games will be played at the University of Tampa, Pepin Stadium located on North Boulevard.

More details can be found here.