POY Alumni: NCAA Division I XC national championships

Two-time Gatorade State Girls Cross Country Runners of the Year Emily Jones and Annamarie Maag (second and third from left, respectively) led Georgetown to the 2011 NCAA Division I national title. Associated Press

A pair of Gatorade National Runners of the Year placed second at the NCAA Division I Cross Country Championships on Monday in Terre Haute, Ind.

Chris Derrick, a senior at Stanford and the 2007-08 Gatorade National Boys Cross Country Runner of the Year, covered the 10,000-meter LaVern Gibson Championship Course in 28:57.5, placing second to Arizona freshman Lawi Lalang, a native of Kenya, who won with a time of 28:44.1.

As a high school senior at Neuqua Valley (Naperville, Ill.), Derrick captured first place individually at the Nike Team Nationals with a time of 15:39.8, leading the Wildcats to the team title. He also placed second at the national Foot Locker Cross Country Championships in 14:57.

In the 6,000-meter women’s race, Oregon junior Jordan Hasay, the 2008-09 Gatorade National Girls Cross Country Runner of the Year, placed second in 19:41.8, just 0.6 seconds behind Villanova senior Sheila Reid.

Hasay won the Foot Locker national championships twice -- in her freshman and senior seasons -- at Mission College Prep (San Luis Obispo, Calif.). She became the first high school runner to win four Foot Locker regional titles by topping the field at the 2008 West Regional.

The Wisconsin men’s team won the national team title with a 27th-place finish from junior Reed Connor, the 2008-09 Gatorade National Boys Cross Country Runner of the Year. Gatorade state winners Elliot Krause (2008, Wisconsin), Maverick Darling (2008, Michigan) and Drew Shields (2009, Indiana) also helped the Badgers to victory.

Georgetown took the title on the women’s side, led by Emily Jones, a two-time Gatorade winner in both Cross Country and Track & Field at the Bromfield School in Harvard, Mass. Annamarie Maag, a two-time Gatorade Oregon Cross Country Runner of the Year, was also on the seven-member Hoya team.