Eye on POY: Mississippi boys cross country

The cross country season may have concluded, but the search for Gatorade State Boys Cross Country Runners of the Year is in full swing. The award recognizes not only athletic excellence, but also high standards of academic achievement and exemplary character demonstrated. These state meet winners made a case in their respective classifications, but did they do enough on and off the course this past season to capture the prestigious statewide honor?

Will Murphey

Sophomore, Oak Grove (Hattiesburg, Miss.)

2011 Team postseason standing: 4th (Class 6A)

2011 State meet finish (Place—time): 1st—16:27.0

Lucian Duchanne

Senior, Oxford (Miss.)

2011 Team postseason standing: 1st (Class 5A)

2011 State meet finish (Place—time): 1st—16:45.5

Jordan Travis

Senior, Poplarville (Miss.)

2011 Team postseason standing: 13th (Class 4A)

2011 State meet finish (Place—time): 1st—16:43.2

Connor Martin

Senior, Kossuth (Miss.)

2011 Team postseason standing: 2nd (Class 3A)

2011 State meet finish (Place—time): 1st—16:56.7

Denarius White

Senior, J.Z. George (Carrollton, Miss.)

2011 Team postseason standing: 1st (Class 2A)

2011 State meet finish (Place—time): 1st—17:05.1

Jared Case

Junior, West Lincoln (Lincoln, Miss.)

2011 Team postseason standing: 2nd (Class 1A)

2011 State meet finish (Place—time): 1st—17:39.7

Winning the state meet isn't a prerequisite for Gatorade State Cross Country Runner of the Year, so here are some more of many other harriers whose performances this past season vaulted them into the conversation during this 2011 campaign.

Madden Becker: Senior, Madison Central (Madison, Miss.)

Kamau Bostic: Senior, Starkville (Miss.)

Daniel Carter: Junior, Ocean Springs (Miss.)

Darnell Collier: Freshman, Tupelo (Miss.)

Chance Garner: Junior, Ocean Springs (Miss.)

Joseph MacGown: Sophomore, Starkville (Miss.)

Garrett Rogers: Senior, Tupelo (Miss.)

Wyatt Scott: Junior, St. Stanislaus (Bay St. Louis, Miss.)

Bingham Wikoff: Junior, St. Stanislaus (Bay St. Louis, Miss.)

Think we're missing a deserving Gatorade State Runner of the Year candidate in your state? Let us know via e-mail at ESPNHS_GPOY@ESPN.com.