POY Alumni: Leading NBA players' union

NBA Players Association executive committee member Matt Bonner is also a three-time Gatorade New Hampshire Boys Basketball Player of the Year. file photo/AP

If a full NBA season is to be salvaged via ongoing negotiations between the league and the players union, former Gatorade Player of the Year winners are likely to play a considerable role in any resolution.

A whopping 12 of the NBA Players Association's 30 team representatives (40 percent) and two members of the NBAPA's nine-man Executive Committee are Gatorade POY alumni.

It makes sense to have as many smart guys in the room as possible, and scholar-athlete POYs are the perfect invitees. After all, the average graduating grade point average for Gatorade Boys Basketball Player of the Year winners since 2005 is 3.32 (a B-plus average). Though he is not yet a player representative, Detroit Pistons rookie Brandon Knight, a two-time Gatorade National Player of the Year, graduated high school with a 4.14 GPA.

Negotiations took a step forward in the past 24 hours as representatives from both sides engaged in a 15-hour bargaining session that endured from mid-day Wednesday until 3 a.m. today. The parties are scheduled to reconvene at 2 p.m. on Thursday to continue bargaining, with the goal of reaching an agreement this weekend, possibly in time to reconstitute an 82-game schedule.

On October 10, the NBA canceled the first two weeks of the 2011-12 regular season because a new collective bargaining agreement had not been reached. The following Gatorade Player of the Year alumni are among those attempting to save the season:

Executive Committee POYs

  • Chris Paul (2003, NC)

  • Matt Bonner (1997, 1998, 1999, NH)

NBAPA Player Representative POYs

  • Paul Pierce (1995, CA)

  • Matt Carroll (1999, PA)

  • Carlos Boozer (1998, 1999 AK)

  • Kyle Lowry (2004, PA)

  • Blake Griffin (2007, OK)

  • Shannon Brown (2003, IL)

  • Corey Maggette (1998, IL)

  • Chris Duhon (2000, LA)

  • Jason Kapono (1999, CA)

  • Marcus Camby (1993, CT)

  • Matt Bonner (1997, 1998, 1999, NH)

  • Jerryd Bayless (2006, 2007, AZ)

Player Representative Alternates POYs

  • Al Harrington (1998, NJ, NPOY)

  • Josh Smith (2004, VA)

  • Chase Budinger (2006, CA)

  • Mike Dunleavy (1999, OR)

  • Kevin Love (2006, 2007, OR, NPOY)

  • J.J. Redick (2000, 2001, 2002 VA)

  • Spencer Hawes (2006, WA)

  • Josh Childress (2001, CA)

  • Richard Jefferson (1998, AZ)

(ESPNHS POY Senior Regional Director Eric Snyder contributed to this report.)