Eye on POY: Alabama girls cross country

The cross country season may have concluded, but the search for Gatorade State Girls Cross Country Runners of the Year is in full swing. The award recognizes not only athletic excellence, but also high standards of academic achievement and exemplary character demonstrated. These state meet winners made a case in their respective classifications, but did they do enough on and off the course this past season to capture the prestigious statewide honor?

Carmen Carlos

Junior, McGill-Toolen Catholic (Mobile, Ala.)

2009-10 and 2010-11 Gatorade Alabama Girls Cross Country Runner of the Year

2011 Team postseason standing: 2nd (Class 6A)

2011 State meet finish (Place—time): 1st—17:19.76

2011 Foot Locker regional (Place—time): 28th—17:59

Rachel Roberts

Senior, John Carroll Catholic (Birmingham, Ala.)

2011 Team postseason standing: 7th (Class 5A)

2011 State meet finish (Place—time): 1st—18:08.07

2011 Foot Locker regional (Place—time): 19th—17:48

Kathryn Lazarchick

Junior, UMS-Wright Prep (Mobile, Ala.)

2011 Team postseason standing: 1st (Class 4A)

2011 State meet finish (Place—time): 1st—18:57.22

Karisa Nelson

Sophomore, T.R. Miller (Brewton, Ala.)

2011 Team postseason standing: 3rd (Class 3A)

2011 State meet finish (Place—time): 1st—18:20.07

Analisa Patrick

Senior, American Christian Academy (Tuscaloosa, Ala.)

2011 Team postseason standing: 1st (Class 1A/2A)

2011 State meet finish (Place—time): 1st—19:12.12

2011 Foot Locker regional (Place—time): 128th—19:28

Winning the state meet isn't a prerequisite for Gatorade State Cross Country Runner of the Year, so here are some more of many other harriers whose performances this past season vaulted them into the conversation during this 2011 campaign.

Sage Blackwell: Senior, McGill-Toolen Catholic (Mobile, Ala.)

Emma Garner: Sophomore, Opelika (Ala.)

Bailey Martin: Freshman, Mountain Brook (Ala.)

Ann Sisson: Junior, Mountain Brook (Ala.)

Think we're missing a deserving Gatorade State Runner of the Year candidate in your state? Let us know via e-mail at ESPNHS_GPOY@ESPN.com or Twitter @ESPNHS_Awards.