POY Alumni: Wenger top pick in MLS draft

No. 1 overall pick Andrew Wenger speaks to the media at the MLS SuperDraft, just three years after capturing 2008-09 Gatorade Pennsylvania Boys Soccer Player of the Year honors. Getty Images

Major League Soccer and the Women’s Professional Soccer league held their annual drafts this week, and there were six former Gatorade Soccer Players of the Year selected in each draft.

Andrew Wenger, the 2008-09 Gatorade Pennsylvania Boys Soccer Player of the Year, was the first pick in Thursday’s MLS SuperDraft by the expansion Montreal Impact. Wenger just completed his junior year at Duke University and was named the 2011 MAC Hermann Trophy winner after tallying 17 goals and eight assists.

Wenger was joined in the first round by four fellow former Gatorade winners.

5. Chivas USA: University of Maryland forward Casey Townsend

2006-07 and 2007-08 Gatorade Michigan Boys Soccer Player of the Year

6. San Jose Earthquakes: UC Santa Barbara forward Sam Garza

2007-08 Gatorade Texas Boys Soccer Player of the Year

13. Philadelphia Union: UCLA forward Chandler Hoffman

2007-08 and 2008-09 Gatorade Alabama Boys Soccer Player of the Year

17. Real Salt Lake: University of North Carolina midfielder Enzo Martinez

2006-07, 2007-08 and 2008-09 Gatorade South Carolina Boys Soccer Player of the Year

University of Washington midfielder and 2007-08 Gatorade Utah Boys Soccer Player of the Year Jacob Hustedt was selected with the sixth pick of the second round and will join Garza on the Earthquakes.

Meanwhile, a pair of former Gatorade National Players of the Year were first-round selections in Friday's WPS draft: Sky Blue FC selected 2006-07 national winner Melissa Henderson second overall and the Western New York Flash took 2011 MAC Hermann Trophy recipient and 2007-08 Gatorade National POY Teresa Noyola with the seventh and final first-round pick.

Henderson concluded her All-American career at Notre Dame with 70 goals, including 18 as a senior. Noyola finished her Stanford career in style, scoring the game’s only goal in the national championship match to complete an undefeated senior season.

Sky Blue FC selected two more Gatorade winners in the draft: Georgetown University midfielder Ingrid Wells (2006-07, New Jersey) in the second round and Michigan State forward Laura Heyboer (2006-07 and 2007-08, Michigan) in the fourth round.

University of Florida midfielder and forward Tahnai Annis (2007-08, Ohio) will join Noyola with the Flash as a third-round selection.

University of Washington midfielder Kate Deines (2006-07 and 2007-08, Washington) was the 23rd and final selection of the four-round draft by the Atlanta Beat.