POY Alumni: Women's College Cup

2010 Gatorade Girls Soccer National Player of the Year Mollie Pathman is one win away from a national title. Derick E. Hingle/US Presswire

For the sixth straight year, a Gatorade Girls Soccer National Player of the Year will be a national champion. Mollie Pathman, the 2010 National Player of the Year, scored two goals for Duke on Saturday as the Blue Devils routed ACC rival Wake Forest, 4-1, to advance to the National Championship game against unbeaten Stanford, which boasts a pair of Gatorade National POYs in Teresa Noyola (2008) and Rachel Quon (2009).

Either Pathman or Noyola and Quon will follow in the footsteps of 2007 Gatorade winner Melissa Henderson, who won the national title with Notre Dame a year ago; 2004 winner Ashlyn Harris, who won in 2006, 2008 and 2009 with North Carolina; 2005 winner Amy Rodriguez who led USC to the 2007 title; and 2003 winner Heather O'Reilly, who teamed with Harris to win the 2006 title with UNC.

Noyola and Quon are two of seven Gatorade state winners on the Stanford roster, with Chioma Ubogagu (2010, Texas), Kristy Zurmuhlen (2008, New Hampshire) and Alina Garciamendez (2009, Texas) all scoring goals in the Cardinal's 3-0 national semifinal win over Florida State.

Pathman is one of six state winners for Duke, which also got goals from Kim DeCesare (2009, New York) and Kaitlyn Kerr (2009, 2010, New Jersey) in the 4-1 win over Wake Forest.