IL Boys Track - 1A Sectional Recap

Here is a brief look at the action of each of the sectionals in Class 1A that happened last Thursday and Friday. To those athletes that made it to Charleston for the State Track & Field Meet, congratulations. To those that did not, congratulations on a season that you competed to the best of your abilities.

~~ Chester Sectional – May 17 ~~

Sparta qualified 12 for the state prelims by winning the Chester Sectional Thursday night. Sharvel Austin led his team with a double win in the 100 (11.48) and the 200 (23.37).

There were two other athletes that were double winners at this meet. Jason Bliven (Trenton-Wesclin, Wesclin Ill) won both hurdles races (110 HH – 15.87, 300 IH 40.50) and Brandon Williams (Duquoin, Ill) won both the Shot (54-2) and the Discus (142-10).

Kyle Landon (Chester, Ill) who placed second last year in the High Jump, proved he was up to this year’s challenge by winning the event clearing 6-7.

~~ Chicago University Sectional – May 17 ~~

Defending 1A team champion won the sectional championship by 36 points over Westmont. The Lions qualified 11 for the state meet led by 1-2 finishes in both the 100 & 200 by Keith Harris Jr. and Theodore Hopkins. Harris had great times in his double win recording 10.85 / 22.22.

Britt Henderson (The Latin School, Chicago, Ill) won both the 800 (1:58.99) and the 1600 (4:32.64).

Sophomore Tim Doll (Westmont, Ill) showed he may challenge for the 400 Meter championship with a 49.96 win.

~~ Moweaqua Sectional – May 17 ~~

We could some future state champions coming out of this sectional. Ryan Pearce (Villa Grove, Ill) won both the Shot (57-0.25) and the Discus (159-7). Colin Carver (Westfield HS, Casey, Ill) won both the 1110 HH (14.76) and the 300 IH (38.93). Broc Smith (Tuscola, Ill) won both the 100 (11.06) and the 200 (22.39) and was part of Tuscola’s winning 4x1 (43.95) and 4x2 (1:32.29) relays. Tuscola qualified 7 in winning the sectional by 31 points over Shelbyville.

Perhaps the best race of the evening was the 800 Meter Run where Brock Snarski (Meridian, Macon Ill) held off Adam Crutchley (Villa Grove, Ill) to run 1:56.16 for the win. Crutchley came back to win the 1600 (4:32.25).

~~ Staunton Sectional – May 17 ~~

Litchfield qualified 5 in winning this sectional with 80 points, 19 better than second place Greenville.

Jake Mahin (Staunton, Ill) conquered both the weight events winning the Shot (56-4) and the Discus (158-1). Cameron Walter (Greenville, Ill) was the only other double winner taking first in both the 100 (11.06) and 200 (22.75).

~~ Erie Sectional - May 18 ~~

This could have been the most exciting end of all the 1A sectionals. Coming into the 4x4 relay, only three points separated the first three teams. Eureka, in third entering the relay, won the race (3:26.94) over Sterling Newman thus winning the sectional. In winning, Eureka qualified 7 to Charleston.

There were three double winners in this meet and one athlete that won three.

Adam Weidner (Bureau Valley, Manlius Ill) won the Shot (56-5.5) and the Discus (160-3). His teammate Derrick Johnson controlled the distances with a triple win in the 3200 (10:06.16), 800 (2:02.15), and the 1600 (4:36.26)

Sprinter Nick Rude (Newman Catholic, Sterling Ill) won the 100 (10.99) and the 200 (22.45) and also a part of Newman’s winning 4x2 relay win (1:30.98). Devin Johnson (Erie Ill) won the Long Jump (22-0.5) and the 400 Meter Dash (51.20).

~~ Lawrenceville Sectional – May 18 ~~

Newton High School won 5 events and will send 10 to the state meet after winning the sectional in Lawrenceville with 127 points. Wins came in 3 relays (4x1 – 43.38, 4x2 – 1:30.05, 4x4 – 3:28.70) and from Mitch Mammoser in the Pole Vault (14-0) and Dylan Davidson in the Triple Jump (41-2.25).

Myles Ketelson (Flora Ill) was the big winner of the evening. The senior won the Long Jump (21-10.75) and both sprints (100 – 11.13, 200 – 22.33).

Blake Hale (Robinson, Ill) proved that he will be one of the favorites in the 800 Meter Run. He ran 1:55.71 for a convincing eight second win. Hale also anchored Robinson’s winning 4 x 8 relay (8:23.27).

~~ Lewistown Sectional – May 18 ~~

Pleasant Plains qualified 11 to the state meet on Thursday in winning this sectional scoring an astounding 137 points. George Wayda led the way with a double win in the 110 HH (15.37) and the 300 IH (40.02).

Defending 100 Meter 1A champion Jonathan Hutchison (Peoria Christian, Peoria Ill) won both the 100 (10.9), and the 200 (22.52) along with anchoring his school’s 4x1 relay (42.87).

~~ Monticello Sectional – May 18 ~~

The most competitive of all of the1A sectionals. Host Monticello captured the sectional crown scoring 132 points, 27 better than St. Joseph-Ogden. Both schools will be in the hunt for a state trophy. Monticello advanced 13 to Charleston while St. Joseph-Ogden will bring 11 to EIU. Seven runners advanced from this race.

State 1A cross country champion Steve Schroeder (Monticello, Ill) had two close battles with Jesse Hahne (Schlarman, Danville Ill) in the 3200 & 1600. Schroeder won the 3200 by four seconds over Hahne (9:31.01 – 9:35.73), then came back in the 1600 to win by less than a second (4:26.38 – 4:27.16).

Zeke Elkins (St. Joseph-Ogden, St. Joseph Ill) had impressive wins in a tough double. In a very competitive 800, Elkins won by two tenths over Eric Leonard (Sangamon Valley, Niantic Ill). He came back 30 minutes later to win the 400 (50.55).

~~ Paxton-Buckley-Loda Sectional – May 18 ~~

Host Paxton-Buckley-Loda and Downs Tri Valley tied for the sectional crown scoring 84 points each.

Ben Bakaitis (Lexington, Ill) was the only individual double winner. Bakaitis won the 110 HH (16.18) and the 300 IH (41.96).

~~ Rushville Sectional – May 18 ~~

Pittsfield qualified eight to the state meet and held back host Rushville to win the sectional title by six points.

The only individual double winner was Alex Walter (Central, Camp Point Ill) winning the Triple Jump (43-5) and the 300 IH (41.28).

~~ Seneca Sectional – May 18 ~~

Aurora Christian stamped itself as one of the team favorites by qualifying 11 in winning the sectional. They had 5 individual wins led by Bill Howorth in the Pole Vault (13-6), Jonah Walker in the Shot Put (47-8), C.J. Schutt in the Discus (146-2), Jake Gehman in the 800 (2:01.27), and Johnathan Harrell in the 400 (50.58).

Defending High Jump 1A champion Oumaru Abdulahi (Mooseheart, Ill) won that event with a 6-3 clearance. He also won the Long Jump (21-6.5).

Grant Nykaza (Beecher, Ill) showed he is fit and ready to challenge Steve Schroeder in the 1600. In his first race in almost a month, the Beecher junior sizzled off a 4:17.36 to win that race by almost sixteen seconds.

~~ West Frankfort Sectional – May 18 ~~

Carterville won the sectional by over 50 points over host West Frankfort while qualifying 11 to Charleston.

Daniel Farmer (Johnston City, Ill), who was the indoor state winner in the 200 and 400, showed that he is in peak condition by winning all three sprint races (100- 11.41, 200 – 22.40, 400 – 50.08).

~~ Winnebago Sectional – May 18 ~~

Winnebago was a rude host in winning their sectional by nine points over Lena-Winslow. The hosts advanced 11 to the state meet in Charleston.

Tevin Sellers was a double winner for Lena-Winslow. He won the 100 (10.97) and the 400 (50.14).