Franklin, Barr named team MVPs

UCLA Bruins running back Johnathan Franklin and linebacker Anthony Barr were named team MVPs at the annual awards banquet Sunday night.

Franklin is fifth in the nation with 1,700 yards rushing and this season became the school's all-time leader in career rushing and also set the school single-season mark for rushing yards. Barr currently leads the nation with 13.5 sacks.

Quarterback Brett Hundley was named rookie of the year and center Jake Brendel, defensive lineman Datone Jones and kicker Ka'imi Fairbairn were named most improved.

A complete list of the team award winners:

Captain Don Brown Memorial Award for Most Improved Player:

Offense – Jake Brendel; Defense – Datone Jones; Special Teams – Ka’imi Fairbairn

Kenneth S. Washington Award for Outstanding Senior of the Year

Offense – Joseph Fauria, Jeff Baca; Defense – Datone Jones, Andrew Abbott; Special Teams – Jeff Locke, Dalton Hilliard

George W. Dickerson Award for Outstanding Offensive Player Against USC

Johnathan Franklin

Donn Moomaw Award for Outstanding Defensive Player Against USC

Eric Kendricks

Paul I. Wellman Memorial Award for All-Around Excellence

Jeff Locke

Tommy Prothro Award for Outstanding Special Teams Player

Dalton Hilliard

Jerry Long "Heart" Award

David Allen

John Boncheff, Jr. Memorial Award for Rookie of the Year

Brett Hundley

Jack R. Robinson Award for the Senior with the Highest Scholarship

Jeff Locke

The Ed Kezirian "Coach K" Award for Academics and Athletic Balance

Ian Taubler

N.N. Sugarman Award for Best Leadership

Offense – Johnathan Franklin; Defense – Damien Holmes; Special Teams – David Allen

Henry R. "Red" Sanders Award for Most Valuable Player

Offense – Johnathan Franklin; Defense – Anthony Barr

UCLA Captains Award

Andrew Abbott, David Allen, Johnathan Franklin, Damien Holmes, Jeff Locke, Xavier Su’a-Filo

Bruin Force Award

Johnathan Franklin