Robey, McDonald named to their third lists

USC defensive backs T.J. McDonald and Nickell Robey were each named to the watch list for the Jim Thorpe Award on Friday, their third such honors of the preseason.

The Thorpe Award goes annually to the best defensive back in the country as judged by the Jim Thorpe Association. Four Pac-12 players were named to the watch list, including McDonald and Robey, Oregon's John Boyett and Oregon State's Jordan Poyer.

Robey is one of one only 15 cornerbacks on the list. He's also been named to the watch lists for the Bednarik Award and Nagurski Trophy this week, as has McDonald.

Watch list season resumes Monday with the Butkus Award and Rotary Lombardi Award.