Three Trojans on Walter Camp watch list

USC quarterback Matt Barkley, receiver Robert Woods and safety T.J. McDonald were named to the Walter Camp Player of the Year watch list on Friday, capping off a two-week stretch of announcements that saw several Trojans got nominated.

Three schools had three players on the list -- USC, Kansas State and Oklahoma. The watch list will be narrowed to 10 semifinalists in mid-November. The eventual award is voted on by NCAA head coaches and sports information directors and announced on SportsCenter on December 6.

Barkley, Woods and McDonald have all earned other watch-list honors this preseason. USC has had a player win the award six times, with Matt Leinart and Reggie Bush last taking it home in back-to-back years in 2004 and 2005.

Stanford's Andrew Luck won the award in 2011.