Is the Carlos Quentin matter settled?

LOS ANGELES – For the first time since the brawl that left Zack Greinke with a broken left collarbone, the Los Angeles Dodgers will face the man who caused the injury.

Carlos Quentin is in tonight’s lineup batting cleanup for the San Diego Padres. He missed the teams' previous series serving his eight-game suspension and Monday night's game because of a sore shoulder.

So, do the Dodgers still hold a grudge? Greinke, who won't pitch in this series, said he doesn't think so. Dodgers manager Don Mattingly said he doesn't anticipate any further hostility and that he hasn't been warned by the umpires or the league office.

"I mean, he gets hit a lot, so if he gets hit, he gets hit," Mattingly said. "I don't mean that in a bad way, but I mean, it's the way you've got to pitch him."

Quentin has led the major leagues in getting hit by pitch in each of the last two seasons, including 17 times in just 86 games in 2012. The previous five seasons, he was tied with Chase Utley for the most HBP's in the majors.

As usual in these situations, we likely won't know the Dodgers' intentions until the game unfolds. In a previous series in Los Angeles, the Padres -- according to the San Diego Union-Tribune -- were puzzled when Kyle Blanks got hit by a pitch for the third time in the series.

"If we get somebody hit, I'm not going to look at it like, 'OK, we're starting a war here,' " Mattingly said. "They're going to try to pitch to us, get us out, pitching in is part of that. You pretty much know when guys are getting thrown at."

Greinke broke his collarbone in a collision near the mound on April 11. Quentin charged thinking Greinke had a long-standing grudge against him from their days on other teams.

Here are the rest of the lineups:

San Diego

1. Chris Denorfia CF

2. Everth Cabrera SS

3. Chase Headley 3B

4. Carlos Quentin LF

5. Jedd Gyorko 2B

6. Yasmani Grandal C

7. Kyle Blanks RF

8. Jesus Guzman 1B

9. Clayton Richard LHP


1. Yasiel Puig RF

2. Mark Ellis 2B

3. Adrian Gonzalez 1B

4. Hanley Ramirez SS

5. Scott Van Slyke LF

6. Juan Uribe 3B

7. Skip Schumaker CF

8. Tim Federowicz C

9. Ted Lilly LHP