Loyola takes D.C. tournament

The Loyola Cubs aren't hibernating this winter.

Loyola (11-0), which had three losses by this time last season, stayed unbeaten Friday night with a 66-53 win against National Jesuit Christmas Classic tournament host North Bethesda (Md.) Georgetown Prep. The Cubs claimed their third tournament championship trophy of the season, and now turn their attention to Mission League play.

Penn-bound forward Julian Harrell, who had 17 points in the title game, earned tournament most valuable player honors.

Other results from Friday's tournament action:

DeMatha (Md.) 74, Windward 64

Windward (8-5) could never get over the hump in the second half, losing to 10th-ranked DeMatha in the Torrey Pines Holiday Classic National Division championship. Still, it was an impressive week in San Diego for the Wildcats. Point guard Jordan Wilson and forward Nick Stover were named to the all-tournament team.

Bishop Montgomery 84, L.A. Washington 55

The Bishop Montgomery Knights improved to 11-2 by winning the Redondo Sea Hawk Beach Classic. They captured the Westchester Tip-off Classic title earlier in the season.

La Verne Lutheran 98, Compton 95 (4 OT)

The early game in the losers' bracket at the Torrey Pines Holiday Classic tournament was a dandy. Compton (7-7) had a two-point lead with four seconds remaining in the third overtime but La Verne Lutheran's Grant Jerrett, an Arizona signee, sent the game into a fourth period with a difficult tying shot. Lutheran (10-3) had a three-point lead with 3.1 seconds left in the second overtime but Compton's Lorenzo Murphy sank a clutch sank a clutch 3-pointer. Jerrett had hit a tying 3-pointer with under 30 seconds remaining in the first overtime. Compton's sensational senior Victor Robbins nailed a tying 3-pointer at the end of regulation. Jerrett finished with 35 points, while Robbins had 30.

Sun Valley Village Christian 58, Pasadena Muir 47

Muir (11-1) fell for the first time this season, failing to capture its third consecutive La Salle/Temple City Holiday Classic tournament crown.