ASU coaching change fallout

The late-season coaching change at Arizona State continues to have an impact on recruiting in the Inland Empire.

It was reported last month that Chaparral linebacker C.J. Dozier and Upland wide receiver Kenny Lawler had de-committed from the Sun Devils after Dennis Erickson was fired Nov. 28 and replaced two weeks later by Todd Graham, who is beginning his fourth head coaching job since 2006.

Dozier, a 6-foot-2, 210-pound senior who averaged 5.3 tackles a game last season, took an official visit to Arizona last weekend and committed to the Wildcats, even opting to enroll at the school for this spring semester, according to the Tucson Citizen. Dozier had made a non-binding verbal commitment to Arizona State in July, prior to taking any official visits.

Lawler, who caught 53 passes for 1,267 yards and 12 touchdowns last season, is the last marquee recruit from the I.E. still undecided on his college choice. He had committed to the Sun Devils back in February, the first offer he received.

The Sun Devils appear to have retained one of their early I.E. commitments, Corona Centennial defensive lineman Milo Jordan, who reportedly re-committed after taking an official visit to Arizona State last weekend. However, the 6-2, 265-pound senior still has an official visit scheduled to UCLA this weekend.

Arizona State has done well recruiting in the Corona-Norco area in the past. On last season’s roster, six players were listed from Centennial and six from Norco.

Here’s an updated list of recruits from the I.E, both committed and uncommitted.



Matt Morin, Chaparral (San Diego State)

Austin Decoud, Redlands East Valley (Idaho)


Donta Abron, Jr., Upland (Colorado)

Davien Payne, Citrus Hill (Colorado)


Damontae Kazee, Cajon (San Diego State)

Jamaal Williams, Summit (BYU)


Lio Lafaele, Corona Centennial (Utah)

Dylan LaFrenz, Los Osos (Arizona State)

Isaiah Folasa, Corona Santiago (UCLA)

Kyle Hart, Ridgecrest Burroughs (San Jose State)

Bobby Alvarez, Barstow (UNLV)


Jeremy Castro, Vista Murrieta (Oregon)

Christian Powell, Upland (UCLA)

Milo Jordan, Corona Centennial (Arizona State)

Teddy Queen, Chaparral (San Diego State)

Samson Kafovalu, Arlington (Colorado)


Scott Starr, Norco (USC)

C.J. Dozier, Chaparral (Arizona)

Reshawn Hooker, A.B. Miller (Utah)

Darnell Murray, Citrus Hill (UTEP)


Donte Deayon, Summit (Boise State)

Corbin McCarthy, Norco (Duke)

Marques Mosley, Upland (Colorado)



Bryan Harper, Colony (UCLA, Oregon, Arizona)


Kenny Lawler, Upland (UCLA, Oregon State, California, Michigan State)


Joe Robinson, Chaparral (Nebraska, Arizona)

Robert Wagner, Colony (Arizona, San Diego State)

Nolan Peralta, Elsinore (Colorado State, Fresno State, San Jose State)