V. Murrieta's Whitaker picks Nebraska

Nebraska has been mining the Inland Empire the last few years and may have found another nugget in Vista Murrieta offensive lineman Corey Whitaker.

Whitaker, listed at 6 feet 4, 255 pounds, committed to Nebraska during an official visit over the weekend, according to the online publication, Huskers Illustrated, becoming the second member of last season’s Inland Division championship team to veer away from Oregon heading into national signing day Feb. 1.

Vista Murrieta defensive lineman Jeremy Castro switched from Oregon to UCLA after visiting the Westwood campus last weekend.

“I was leaning toward Oregon and halfway through the visit I was thinking ‘Wow, Nebraska is steering me away from the dream school,’ ” Whitaker told Huskers Illustrated. “That’s when I started to know that the team I thought was my dream team, wouldn’t be the team for me.”

Whitaker was not listed on scout.com as having a scholarship offer from the Ducks. He had taken visits to Nevada and San Jose State since the season ended and was also listed as having offers from San Diego State, Idaho and Fresno State.

Nebraska has done well with its recruits from the I.E.

Taylor Martinez, who graduated from Corona Centennial in 2009, was a third-year starting quarterback for the Huskers last season, helping them to a 9-4 record and a trip to the Capital One Bowl. Quincy Enunwa, a junior-to-be wide receiver from Rancho Verde in Moreno Valley, should be one Martinez’s top targets next season.

In other recruiting news, Corona Santiago offensive lineman Isaiah Folasa has reportedly de-committed from UCLA, the Press-Enterprise reported. Colorado and New Mexico are now reportedly in the mix for the 6-2, 325-pound tackle.

J.W. North wide receiver Aaron Peck committed to Fresno State on Monday, according to scout.com.

Here's the most updated list of recruits from the I.E.:



Matt Morin, Chaparral (San Diego State)

Austin Decoud, Redlands East Valley (Idaho)


Donta Abron, Jr., Upland (Colorado)

Davien Payne, Citrus Hill (Colorado)


Aaron Peck, J.W. North (Fresno State)


Damontae Kazee, Cajon (San Diego State)

Jamaal Williams, Summit (BYU)


Lio Lafaele, Corona Centennial (Utah)

Dylan LaFrenz, Los Osos (Arizona State)

Corey Whitaker, Vista Murrieta (Nebraska)

Aisea Hansen, Kaiser (Nevada)

Kyle Hart, Ridgecrest Burroughs (San Jose State)

Bobby Alvarez, Barstow (UNLV)


Jeremy Castro, Vista Murrieta (UCLA)

Christian Powell, Upland (UCLA)

Milo Jordan, Corona Centennial (Arizona State)

Teddy Queen, Chaparral (San Diego State)

Samson Kafovalu, Arlington (Colorado)


Scott Starr, Norco (USC)

C.J. Dozier, Chaparral (Arizona)

Reshawn Hooker, A.B. Miller (Utah)

Darnell Murray, Citrus Hill (UTEP)


Donte Deayon, Summit (Boise State)

Corbin McCarthy, Norco (Duke)

Marques Mosley, Upland (Colorado)



Bryan Harper, Colony (UCLA, Oregon, Arizona)


Kenny Lawler, Upland (Oregon State, Washington State, Oklahoma State)


Isaiah Folasa, Corona Santiago (Colorado, New Mexico)


Joe Robinson, Chaparral (Nebraska, Arizona)

Robert Wagner, Colony (Arizona, San Diego State)

Nolan Peralta, Elsinore (Colorado State, Fresno State, San Jose State)