LA North and LA South: CIF City Section baseball playoffs pairings

Chatsworth, the champion of the West Valley League, is the top seed in the CIF City Section Division 1 playoffs. Chatsworth won the City Section championship three years in a row, from 2007 to '09.

El Camino Real, the reigning City Section champion, is the No. 2 seed.

Kennedy of Granada Hills earned the No. 3 seed. Kennedy and San Fernando shared the Valley Mission League championship, but San Fernando was seeded sixth in the playoffs.

The playoffs begin Friday with wild-card games. The first round of the City Section playoffs begin Tuesday.

The championship game will be at Dodger Stadium on June 4.

Here is a look at the playoff pairings:



Wild-card games, Friday, 3 p.m.

No. 17 Los Angeles Roosevelt at No. 16 Westchester

No. 20 Los Angeles Marshall at No. 13 Granada Hills

No. 19 Garfield at No. 14 Verdugo Hills

No. 18 Sylmar at No. 15 Bell

First round, Tuesday, 3 p.m.

Roosevelt/Westchester winner at No. 1 Chatsworth

No. 9 Arleta at No. 8 Taft

No. 12 Birmingham at No. 5 San Pedro

Marshall/Granada Hills winner at No. 4 Wilmington Banning

Garfield/Verdugo Hills winner at No. 3 Granada Hills Kennedy

No. 11 Palisades at No. 6 San Fernando

No. 10 Cleveland at No. 7 Narbonne

Bell/Sylmar winner at No. 2 El Camino Real

Division I quarterfinals, May 26, 3 p.m. Division I semifinals, June 1, 3 and 6 p.m. at USC's Dedeaux Field. Finals, June 4 at Dodger Stadium (Division I at 2 p.m.)


Wild-card games, Friday, 3 p.m.

No. 17 Santee at No. 16 King-Drew

No. 20 Huntington Park at No. 13 Lincoln

No. 19 Canoga Park at No. 14 Dorsey

No. 18 Fremont at No. 15 Franklin

First round, Tuesday, 3 p.m.

King Drew/Santee winner at No. 1 Maywood

No. 9 North Hollywood at No. 8 Los Angeles University

No. 12 Los Angeles at No. 5 Gardena

Lincoln/Huntington Park winner at No. 4 Locke

Dorsey/Canoga Park winner at No. 3 Crenshaw

No. 11 Van Nuys at No. 6 Wilson

No. 10 South Gate at No. 7 West Adams

Franklin/Fremont winner at No. 2 Hollywood

Division II quarterfinals, May 26, 3 p.m. Division II semifinals, May 31, 3 and 6 p.m. at Birmingham. Finals, June 4 at Dodger Stadium (Division II at 11 a.m.)