Inland Empire: Corona Centennial highlights Inland Division selections

The All-Southern Section 11-man football teams were released Thursday and, as expected, Corona Centennial had several players representing the Inland Division.

The Huskies had five players selected to the 22-man offensive team, including quarterback Michael Eubank, the division’s offensive player of the year.

Eubank, who is expected to sign with Arizona State next week, threw for 2,831 yards and 22 touchdowns while leading Centennial to the Inland Division title and a Division I state bowl berth. Eubank also ran for 1,329 yards and 19 touchdowns.

Centennial defensive back Chris Gonzalez was named the division’s defensive player of the year over San Diego State-bound teammate and leading tackler, linebacker Ryan Jack. Gonzalez led the Huskies with seven interceptions and was second on the team in tackles. Milo Jordan, a junior lineman and top recruit for next year, was the other Centennial player selected to the defensive team.

Matt Logan completed the sweep for Centennial, winning coach of the year honors.

Inland Division runner-up Vista Murrieta had six selections and semifinalists Rancho Cucamonga and Chino Hills had five each.

Among the notable players not selected was Chaparral receiver Antoine Arnold, last season's co-offensive player of the year. Arnold played in all but two games this season but his numbers dropped significantly as the offense struggled to get him the ball. Corona defensive end DeVante Wilson, who is expected to sign with USC next week, did not return to the defensive team.

In the Central Division, Moreno Valley Rancho Verde had six players selected to the offensive and defensive teams, including offensive player of the year Travis Champion, who threw 27 touchdowns last season and was intercepted just twice while leading the Mustangs to the Central Division championship game.

Colton, which upset Rancho Verde to win the title, had five selections, led by defensive player of the year Devan Hussey, who averaged a team-high 9.2 tackles and recorded a team-high 16 sacks. John Taylor, a 6-3. 245-pound senior for the Yellowjackets, was selected on both the offensive and defensive lines.

Richard Bray, a longtime assistant for Colton who took over as head coach last season, was named coach of the year.

Over in the Eastern Division, Elsinore running back Seth Middlemas was named offensive player of the year after leading the Tigers to the section title. Nolan Peralta, a 6-3, 225-pound junior linebacker for Elsinore, was selected defensive player of the year and his father, Tony Peralta, was coach of the year.

The Tigers are set to return three all-Eastern Division selections on the defensive side of the ball. Joining Peralta will be hard-hitting sophomore free safety Allan Stubbs and junior defensive back Daniel Rodriguez, who made his biggest contributions as a running back during the second half of the season.

Fontana Kaiser, which was upset by Elsinore in a division semifinal, had the most selections with eight. Elsinore had seven and Fontana Summit, led by Oregon-bound receiver Devon Blackmon, had five.

For the complete list of selections from all the divisions, check here.