O.C.: Football playoffs will look different

Orange County football, certainly at the upper levels, will have a much different look in the fall. The Southern Section finalized placement for football leagues on Wednesday, with the biggest news involving the premier Pac-5 Division.

The Sunset League is out, the Marmonte League is in.

That means the league has essentially swapped out the likes of Huntington Beach Edison, Newport Harbor and Los Alamitos for Ventura St. Bonaventure, Westlake Village Oaks Christian and Westlake.

All three of those Marmonte programs have played in State Championship Bowl games.

Over the last four seasons, the Sunset League went 5-12 in the playoffs but only 2-11 apart from Edison's run to the section finals in 2009; one of the other two victories was by Esperanza, which is no longer in the league.

The other playoff victory was in Huntington Beach's upset of Los Angeles Loyola last season.

Los Alamitos, whose coach John Barnes is closing in on 300 career wins and is annually tabbed one of the league's best teams, hasn't won a playoff game since 2004.

The Sunset League has been moved to the Southwest Division, which has been dominated recently by La Habra. The Highlanders won four consecutive titles before losing to runner-up El Toro in the semifinals last season (El Toro has been moved to the South Coast League, which will be in the Pac-5). Tustin is the defending champ of the Southwest Division.

The new Southwest Division (Division VI):

Century: Villa Park, Brea Olinda, Esperanza, Foothill, El Modena, El Dorado, Anaheim Canyon.

Empire: Yorba Linda, Tustin, Cypress, La Palma Kennedy, Garden Grove Pacifica, Western, Placentia Valencia.

Freeway: La Habra, Buena Park, Troy, Sonora, Fullerton, Sunny Hills.

Sea View: Laguna Hills, Aliso Nigel, Capistrano Valley, San Juan Hills, Dana Hills.

Sunset: Edison, Huntington Beach, Newport Harbor, Los Alamitos, Fountain Valley, Marina.

The new Pac-5 Division (Division I)

Marmonte: Westlake, Oaks Christian, St. Bonaventure, Thousand Oaks, Simi Valley, Moorpark, Royal, Newbury Park, Agoura, Calabasas.

Moore: Long Beach Poly, Lakewood, LB Cabrillo, LB Wilson, Jordan, Compton, Millikan.

Serra: Mission Hills Alemany, Loyola, Encino Crespi, Sherman Oaks Notre Dame, La Puente Bishop Amat.

South Coast: Mission Viejo, San Clemente, Tesoro, Trabuco Hills, El Toro.

Trinity: Servite, Santa Margarita, St. John Bosco, Mater Dei, JSerra, Orange Lutheran.

This playoff cycle will be in place for two seasons before it will be reexamined.