AWARDS: Beckham can win but not MVP

There's David Beckham's name on the list of award finalists that Major League Soccer just released, only it's not with the players up for the biggest honor.

The Galaxy midfielder, the club's best hope for the MVP award, is a finalist for Comeback Player of the Year. D.C. United's Charlie Davies and Chicago's Dominic Oduro are the other finalists. Davies, who returned from a deadly car crash that ended his 2010 World Cup hopes to restart his career in MLS, is heavily favored.

The three MVP possibilities are Houston's Brad Davis, D.C. United's Dwayne De Rosario and FC Dallas' Brek Shea. Beckham mentioned after L.A.'s Western Conference final victory Sunday night over Real Salt Lake that Davis has won the honor, although no confirmation will be coming from the league, at least not until Nov. 18.

Omar Gonzalez is up for Defender of the Year, along with Real Salt Lake's Jamison Olave and Nat Borchers -- Olave won among the same trio last year -- and Bruce Arena joins Seattle's Sigi Schmid (Torrance/Bishop Montgomery HS and UCLA) and Sporting Kansas City's Peter Vermes among Coach of the Year finalists.

Chivas USA is a finalist for the Team Fair Play honor, UCLA product Kevin Hartman (Palos Verdes/Peninsula HS) is up for Goalkeeper of the Year, and former Cal State Fullerton midfielder Michael Farfan (Wildomar) is a Rookie of the Year finalist. The best-referee trio includes Chino's Kevin Stott.

The top-rookie award, expected to go to K.C. forward C.J. Sapong, will be announced Tuesday, along with the Fair Play awards. Defender of the Year is due Wednesday, with announcements following for the Best XI (Thursday). Other awards will be coming next week.

The full list of finalists:

MVP (announced Nov. 18)

Brad Davis (Houston Dynamo)

Dwayne De Rosario (D.C. United)

Brek Shea (FC Dallas)

Rookie of the Year (Nov. 8)

Michael Farfan (Philadelphia Union)

Perry Kitchen (D.C. United)

C.J. Sapong (Sporting Kansas City)

Newcomer of the Year (Nov. 15)

Eric Hassli (Vancouver Whitecaps)

Luke Rodgers (New York Red Bulls)

Mauro Rosales (Seattle Sounders)

Coach of the Year (Nov. 14)

Bruce Arena (Galaxy)

Sigi Schmid (Seattle Sounders)

Peter Vermes (Sporting Kansas City)

Defender of the Year (Nov. 9)

Nat Borchers (Real Salt Lake)

Omar Gonzalez (Galaxy)

Jamison Olave (Real Salt Lake)

Goalkeeper of the Year (Nov. 15)

Kevin Hartman (FC Dallas)

Kasey Keller (Seattle Sounders)

Faryd Mondragon (Philadelphia Union)

Comeback Player of the Year (Nov. 14)

David Beckham (Galaxy)

Charlie Davies (D.C. United)

Dominic Oduro (Chicago Fire)

Humanitarian of the Year (Nov. 9)

Zak Boggs (New England Revolution)

Brad Davis (Houston Dynamo)

Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)

Fair Play -- Individuals (Nov. 8)

Darrius Barnes (New England Revolution)

Kosuke Kimura (Colorado Rapids)

Sebastien Le Toux (Philadelphia Union)

Fair Play -- Team (Nov. 8)

Chivas USA

Philadelphia Union

Portland Timbers

Referee of the Year (Nov. 9)

Mark Geiger

Ricardo Salazar

Kevin Stott

Assistant Referee of the Year (Nov. 9)

Sean Hurd

Corey Rockwell

Adam Wienckowski