MLS: Galaxy quartet among All-Stars

The Galaxy's league-leading scorers and anchors of its league's-best defense have been voted to Major League Soccer's All-Star First XI, the tentative starting lineup for the All-Star Game against Manchester United.

Forwards Edson Buddle and Landon Donovan, back from the World Cup, will join goalkeeper Donovan Ricketts and defender Omar Gonzalez in the July 28 match at Reliant Stadium in Houston.

Donovan, who leads MLS with 10 assists, has been chosen to the All-Star team in each of his 10 seasons in the league. Ricketts, who is Jamaican, and Gonzalez, last year's MLS Rookie of the Year, are first-time selections. Buddle, whose 10 goals lead MLS, is making his second appearance.

Riverside's Chad Marshall, a defender for the Columbus Crew, also is in the First XI.

Others voted to the starting lineup by fans, players, media, coaches and general managers are Chicago midfielder Marco Pappa, Columbus midfielder/forward Guillermo Barros Schelotto, Toronto FC midfielder Dwayne De Rosario, and three players from Real Salt Lake: defender Jamison Olave and midfielders Kyle Beckerman and Javier Morales.

Donovan was the game's MVP in 2001, and De Rosario won the honor in 2006.

Twelve more players will be selected by Galaxy coach Bruce Arena and MLS Commissioner Don Garber, and Arena will select his starting lineup from the 23-man roster. An additional nine players will be granted All-Star status -- as mandated by the Collective Bargaining Agreement -- but will not play in the game.

Chivas USA's Jonathan Bornstein finished fourth in balloting among defenders, but the First XI was chosen in a 3-5-2 formation. Montclair's Nick Rimando, who plays for Real Salt Lake, finished third among goalkeepers.

Gonzalez, De Rosario and Buddle were the top vote-getters at their positions.

This is the sixth straight year MLS's All-Stars have faced a British opponent preparing for its season. The MLS side beat England's Fulham (2005), Chelsea (2006) and West Ham United (2008) and Scotland's Celtic (2007), and lost on penalty kicks to Everton (2009) after a 1-1 draw. In the only other game against a foreign club, the All-Stars beat Mexico's Guadalajara in 2003.



Donovan Ricketts (Galaxy)


Omar Gonzalez (Galaxy)

Jamison Olave (Real Salt Lake)

Chad Marshall (Columbus)


Dwayne De Rosario (Toronto FC)

Guillermo Barros Schelotto (Columbus)

Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake)

Javier Morales (Real Salt Lake)

Marco Pappa (Chicago)


Edson Buddle (Galaxy)

Landon Donovan (Galaxy)