Rose Bowl gets 2011 Gold Cup final

The CONCACAF Gold Cup final is returning to Southern California after nine years: Next year's championship game in the regional national teams competition will be played at the Rose Bowl.

It'll be the sixth time the champion of North and Central America and the Caribbean will be crowned in L.A., and odds are it will be the U.S. or Mexico. The region's two big powers have combined for nine of 10 titles since CONCACAF, the regional governing body for soccer, established the Gold Cup in 1991.

CONCACAF championships also were played from 1963 to 1971, and the region's top qualifier for the 1974, 1978, 1982, 1986 and 1990 World Cups doubled as the CONCACAF titlist.

The Rose Bowl staged 10 games, including the final, at the 2002 Gold Cup. The U.S. beat Costa Rica, 2-0, in the championship game.

Gold Gup finals were played at the Coliseum in 1991 (with the U.S. winning), 1996 (Mexico), 1998 (Mexico) and 2000 (Canada). The past three title games were played in East Rutherford, N.J. (2005, won by the U.S., and 2009, won by Mexico) and Chicago (2007, won by the U.S.); Southern California venues were used during the 2005, 2007 and 2009 tournaments.

No date has been set for the 2011 title game, but the tournament will begin June 5. Other venues will be announced later this year. Qualifying begins Aug. 18 with the start of the Caribbean Cup.

The Gold Cup winner will qualify for the 2013 Confederations Cup.


CONCACAF Championship

1963: Costa Rica

1965: Mexico

1967: Guatemala

1969: Costa Rica

1971: Mexico

1973: Haiti

1977: Mexico

1981: Honduras

1985: Canada

1989: Costa Rica


1991: United States

1993: Mexico

1996: Mexico

1998: Mexico

2000: Canada

2002: United States

2003: Mexico

2005: United States

2007: United States

2009: Mexico