Landon Donovan wins Honda Award again

They might as well call it the Landon Donovan Award. The Galaxy forward Wednesday captured the Honda Award -- American soccer's most prestigious honor -- for the seventh time and the fourth straight year.

It wasn't much of a contest -- Donovan gathered 403 points in balloting conducted by Spanish-language radio network Futbol de Primera, more than runner-up Michael Bradley (169) and third-place finisher Clint Dempsey (157) combined -- nor should it have been.

America's biggest soccer star had arguably his finest year, starring for Everton in the English Premier League in a winter loan, leading the U.S. to the knockout phase of the World Cup in South Africa and topping Major League Soccer in assists as primary provider in the Galaxy's run to the Supporters' Shield title as MLS's regular-season champion.

Donovan also won the honor in 2002, 2003 and 2004. Dempsey, who plays for Fulham in England, claimed the 2006 honor. Bradley, the son of U.S. national team coach Bob Bradley and a midfielder at Borussia Moenchengladbach in Germany, was a first-time finalist.

Honda winners:

1991: Hugo Perez

1992: Eric Wynalda

1993: Thomas Dooley

1994: Marcelo Balboa

1995: Alexi Lalas

1996: Eric Wynalda

1997: Eddie Pope

1998: Cobi Jones

1999: Kasey Keller

2000: Claudio Reyna

2001: Earnie Stewart

2002: Landon Donovan

2003: Landon Donovan

2004: Landon Donovan

2005: Kasey Keller

2006: Clint Dempsey

2007: Landon Donovan

2008: Landon Donovan

2009: Landon Donovan

2010: Landon Donovan