USSF honors Landon Donovan, Abby Wambach

Galaxy captain Landon Donovan and Hermosa Beach's Abby Wambach, as expected, are U.S Soccer's Athletes of the Year, the federation's top honor for players.

Donovan (Redlands/Redlands East Valley HS), an MLS Best XI selection who was the pivotal figure in the U.S.'s run to the World Cup round of 16, becomes the first four-time winner of the men's award. He previously was honored in 2003, 2004 and 2009.

He's also the frontrunner for the Honda Player of the Year award, the most prestigious American soccer honor, which syndicated Spanish-language radio network Futbol de Primera will announce early next year. Donovan has won the award six times, including the past three years.

Wambach, a Washington Freedom striker who scored 16 goals in 18 games for the U.S. women's national team this year -- with a tournament-best eight in CONCACAF's qualifiers for next year's Women's World Cup -- is a four-time winner of U.S. Soccer's women's award. She won in 2003, 2004 and 2007.

Portugal-based defender Gale Agbossoumonde, who made his full international debut in November, and Santa Clara University goalkeeper Bianca Henninger, who was in the nets for the U.S. at the FIFA U-20 Women's World Cup, captured U.S. Soccer's Youth Athlete of the Year awards.