COLLEGE: UCLA's four championships

UCLA has been to a dozen NCAA men's soccer final fours, played in eight finals and won four championships.

A look back at the titles:

  • 1985

UCLA 1, American 0 (8 OT)

UCLA had lost in three finals, all to St. Louis, back in the early 1970s -- the last two during coach Sigi Schmid's playing days. When the Bruins finally prevailed, they had to wait for it. Little-used defender Andy Burke was the hero, scoring in the 167th minute -- his first collegiate goal -- to overcome American at the Kingdome in Seattle. UCLA went 20-1-4, winning its final dozen games behind forward Dale Ervine (15 goals), defenders Paul Caligiuri and Paul Krumpe, and goalkeeper David Vanole.

  • 1990

UCLA 0, Rutgers 0 (4 OT)

(UCLA wins on penalties, 4-3)

What a team the Bruins put together in 1990: future World Cup picks Brad Friedel, Joe-Max Moore and Mike Lapper, plus 1990 World Cup reserve Chris Henderson. The hero, it turned out, was current Bruins coach Jorge Salcedo, a freshman who had missed three times in penalty-kick shootouts at Cerritos High School but came through when it mattered, converting the decisive shot to topple Alexi Lalas and Rutgers in Tampa, Fla. UCLA (17-1-6) also needed spot kicks to get past North Carolina State in the semifinals.

  • 1997

UCLA 2, Virginia 0

Matt Reis gave one of the most phenomenal performances in NCAA history, making 20 mostly spectacular saves to beat No. 1 Indiana in the semifinals and Virginia in the title game and lead the Bruins to their third title. UCLA (22-2-0) needed Reis' heroics after injuries took away team MVP Peter Vagenas, star midfielder Sasha Victorine and All-Mountain Pacific Sports Federation defender Kevin Coye during the postseason, but McKinley Tennyson Jr.'s rebound in the 132nd minute toppled the Hoosiers and Seth George scored twice in the final 10 minutes to beat Virginia in Richmond, Va.

  • 2002

UCLA 1, Stanford 0

The late Tom Fitzgerald was in charge of UCLA for only two seasons, and the first one was spectacular. He guided the Bruins to an 18-3-3 mark, with playoff victories over two of the teams that beat them during the regular season (Loyola Marymount and Cal), a tight triumph in the semifinals over No. 1 Maryland and the title-game victory over Pac-10 rival Stanford, their third 1-0 win over the Cardinal of the season. The championship, captured in Dallas, arrived in most dramatic fashion: Aaron Lopez first-timed Ryan Futagaki's free kick into the net with 62 seconds to go until overtime.