How the Yanks voted in FIFA's award(s)

FIFA's annual Ballon d'Or honors are voted upon by national team coaches, captains and select media.

Here are how the votes for the men's World Player award, which went for the third straight year to the Argentine Barcelona star Lionel Messi, fell within our borders:

Jurgen Klinsmann, coach: 1. Messi; 2. Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal/Real Madrid); 3. Diego Forlan (Uruguay/Atletico Madrid and Inter Milan)

Carlos Bocanegra, captain: 1. Messi; 2. Xavi (Spain/Barcelona); 3. Cristiano Ronaldo

Paul Kennedy, media (Soccer America): 1. Messi; 2. Cristiano Ronaldo; 3. Xavi.

Mexico coach Jose Manuel de la Torre voted, in order, for Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo and Wayne Rooney (England/Manchester United), and captain Gerardo Torrado went with Xavi, Messi and Mesut Özil (Germany/Real Madrid).

Canada coach Stephen Hart's votes went to Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo and Andres Iniesta (Spain/Barcelona), and captain Dwayne De Rosario voted for Messi, Iniesta and Xavi.

FIFA has not yet posted the votes for the men's coaching award nor for either of the women's awards, but ESPN.com's Jacqueline Purdy -- who holds the U.S. media vote -- posted on her Twitter account that she voted for Japan's Homare Sawa, who won the World Player award, followed by France's Sonia Bompastor and Sweden's Lotta Schelin. She also voted for the coaching winner, Japan's Norio Sasaki, and had Sweden's Thomas Dennerby second and U.S. coach Pia Sundhage third.