Beckham, Donovan make All-Star list

David Beckham and Landon Donovan won the fans' vote for Major League Soccer's All-Star First XI, the first step in selecting the team that will take on European champion Chelsea later this month in Chester, Pa.

MLS on Sunday announced the first 11 players, selected in a 4-4-2 formation, and the list includes New York Red Bulls star Thierry Henry, San Jose striker Chris Wondolowski and reigning league MVP Dwayne De Rosario from D.C. United.

Chivas USA goalkeeper Dan Kennedy lost out to Sporting Kansas City's Jimmy Nielsen for the First XI goalkeeper slot but was among seven players MLS cited as being “close to the leading vote-getters at their positions.”

The First XI is not the starting lineup, merely the first 11 players chosen for the team. Commissioner Don Garber has two selections and D.C. United coach Ben Olsen, who will guide the MLS side in the July 25 match, will fill out the remainder of the 18-man game roster, with the announcement of their picks scheduled for next Sunday. Olsen will determine his starters from the 18.

Fourteen additional players will be announced July 25 as all-stars, per the MLS Players Union's Collective Bargaining Agreement with the league, but none will be eligible to play.

Donovan is a 12-time All-Star selection, and Beckham is making his third appearance on the list. Beckham's availability is uncertain; he might be in London for the Olympics, which begin July 25.

Sporting Kansas City placed three players on the First XI, with defender Aurelien Collin and midfielder Graham Zusi joining Nielsen. Former Chivas USA defender Heath Pearce is the second Red Bull on the list, and San Jose also has a second player, defender Steven Beitashour.

Here is the First XI:


Jimmy Nielsen (Sporting Kansas City), Denmark, second All-Star appearance


Steven Beitashour (San Jose Earthquakes), U.S., first

Aurelien Collin (Sporting Kansas City), France, first

Jay DeMerit (Vancouver Whitecaps), U.S., first

Heath Pearce (New York Red Bulls), U.S., first


David Beckham (Galaxy), England, third

Dwayne De Rosario (D.C. United, Canada, seventh

Landon Donovan (Galaxy), U.S., 12th

Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City), U.S., first


Thierry Henry (New York Red Bulls), France, second

Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes), U.S., second