Three Bruins named first-team All Pac-12

UCLA linebacker Anthony Barr, offensive lineman Xavier Su'a-Filo and punter Jeff Locke were selected first-team All Pac-12 by a vote of the conference coaches.

Running back Johnathan Franklin, offensive lineman Jeff Baca, defensive lineman Datone Jones and fullback David Allen earned second-team honors -- Allen for his play on special teams.

Barr, a 6-4, 235-pound junior, tied for the conference lead with 12 sacks and was second with 19 tackles for a loss. He finished with 66 total tackles and forced four fumbles in his first year as a linebacker after spending his first two seasons as a running back/receiver hybrid.

Su'a-Filo was UCLA's most consistent blocker this season and often drew the task of going up against the opponent's top defensive linemen. He was a key reason why UCLA was No. 3 in the conference in total offense and rushing.

Locke averaged 43.3 yards per punt and put 30 of his 66 punts inside the opponent's 20-yard line. Only six of his punts went into the end zone for a touchback. Opponents were forced to fair catch 29 punts, and they returned only 14 for 84 yards.

It is the most first-team all-conference selections for UCLA since 2009, when four Bruins landed on the team. Last year, despite advancing to the Pac-12 championship game, the only first-or second-team selection was Derrick Coleman, who made the second team as a special teams player.

Honorable mention this year went to safety Andrew Abbott, center Jake Brendel, receiver Shaq Evans, tight end Joseph Fauria, quarterback Brett Hundely, linebacker Eric Kendricks, defensive lineman Cassius Marsh and running back Damien Thigpen.

USC receiver Marqise Lee was named offensive player of the year, and Arizona State defensive lineman Will Sutton was named defensive player of the year. Stanford's David Shaw took coach of the year honors.