Dye, Franklin and Larimore voted captains

UCLA has selected safety Tony Dye, running back Johnathan Franklin and linebacker Patrick Larimore as team captains for the 2011 season, coach Rick Neuheisel announced Thursday.

The players were selected by a team vote which came much later in the season than in years past. Previously, the captains were in place before fall camp began.

"I moved the vote to much later in the year so they could see who was doing the work in the summer time and who was providing the leadership that good team all need and require and I think they’ve made some excellent choices," Neuheisel said.

Dye, a senior, led the team with 96 tackles and has started every game for UCLA in each of the past two years. Larimore, the junior middle linebacker, started seven games last season before a separated shoulder in Week 7. He had five tackles for a loss and was the Nagurski national defensive player of the week after totaling 12 tackles and forced fumble against Houston in Week 3.

Franklin, a junior, led the Bruins with 1,127 yards rushing and eight touchdowns last season. He was the first UCLA running back to eclipse 1,000 yards since Chris Markey in 2006.

The players were not available to the media after practice on Thursday.