Maxwell and Bednarik releases kick off watch-list week

USC had seven players named to the Maxwell and Bednarik Award watch lists Monday, beginning a two-week period of rapid watch-list announcements from now until July 20.

Matt Barkley, Curtis McNeal, Robert Woods and Marqise Lee were all named to the Maxwell Award list, with members of the Maxwell Football Club and NCAA sports information directors, head coaches and selected national media doing the final voting for the trophy. It will be awarded to the nation's most outstanding player Dec. 6 as part of the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show.

For the Bednarik Award, which goes to the nation's best defensive player as judged by the same group, USC's T.J. McDonald, Nickell Robey and Dion Bailey were all honored.

No other program had as many as seven players on the two lists, as the Trojans did. With 13 more watch list announcements coming over the next 10 days, USC could have roughly 20 more nominations in that span.