Who's on the Dolphins' Mount Rushmore?

Dan Marino was the NFL's most prolific passer for years. Don Shula still tops the list for career wins. AP Photo/NFL Photos

Miami Heat star LeBron James opened an interesting can of worms this week. James, who is in the prime of his career, said there's no doubt he will be on the NBA's mythical Mount Rushmore, where all-time greats such as Michael Jordan reside.

That brings me to the NFL and the Miami Dolphins, who have plenty of history. Who would be on the Dolphins' Mount Rushmore?

There are only four spots on the mountain. Here are the picks from ESPN.com's Dolphins page:

1. Don Shula, coach

Analysis: This is the easiest pick of the four. Shula won two Super Bowls with the Dolphins -- including one with the undefeated 1972 team -- and an NFL championship with the Baltimore Colts. Shula still holds the record for most career wins and would be on the NFL coaches' Mount Rushmore as well. He was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1997.

2. Dan Marino, quarterback

Analysis: Marino is one of the greatest quarterbacks of all time and by far the best quarterback in Miami franchise history. Marino was a nine-time Pro Bowler who went into the Hall of Fame on the first ballot in 2005. He holds nearly every significant Dolphins passing record and was 147-93 as a starter. The only thing missing from his résumé is a Super Bowl victory.

3. Bob Griese, quarterback

Analysis: The fact that two quarterbacks make Miami's Mount Rushmore says something. South Florida is a region that knows the position well. Griese has two Super Bowl rings and was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 1990. His statistics were not off the charts, but he was a winner. He was 92-56-3 in his career as a starter.

4. Larry Csonka, running back

Analysis: The fourth spot on the Dolphins' Mount Rushmore was the toughest choice. It came down to Paul Warfield and Csonka, a pair of two-time Super Bowl champions. But Warfield played only five seasons in Miami. So I'm going with Csonka, who rushed for 6,737 yards and 53 touchdowns in eight seasons with the Dolphins and remains Miami's all-time leading rusher. He was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 1987.

Honorable mentions: WR Paul Warfield, LB Nick Buoniconti, DE Jason Taylor, LB Zach Thomas, G Larry Little, OL Dwight Stephenson, WR Mark Clayton, WR Mark Duper, LT Richmond Webb.

Agree or disagree, Dolphins fans? Share your thoughts in the comments section below or send a message via Twitter @JamesWalkerNFL.