Prep Mania Profile: Jack Monis

Dennis Semrau covers prep sports for 100.5 ESPN and ESPNWisconsin.com

Jack Monis, Lakeside Lutheran High School

Year: Senior.

Sports: Football, basketball, baseball.

Sports highlights: Jack is a three-time letterwinner and a three-year starter in football at safety as a sophomore and at quarterback as a junior and senior. He is a co-captain as a senior for the Warriors, who won the Capitol North Conference title and have advanced to the third round of the WIAA Division 4 playoffs. He earned All-Capitol North Conference second-team honors. As a junior, he earned all-league second-team honors at quarterback, rushing for 1,106 yards and 17 touchdowns and passing for 602 yards and five touchdowns. He earned all-conference honorable mention honors at safety as a sophomore.

He is a three-time letterwinner, three-year starter and two-time All-Capitol North Conference second-team selection in basketball as a power forward. He averaged 11.5 points per game as a junior and averaged 11.1 points and a team-best 6.5 rebounds per game as a sophomore. He earned a varsity letter in baseball as a freshman as a shortstop and pitcher.

Pre-game ritual or superstition: Throwing with Coach Scott Bolin.

Cumulative GPA: 3.8.

Favorite subject/class: Economics.

Favorite teacher: Mr. Vanderhoof.

Quick quote: “Competing in sports has taught me that nothing great comes without great effort.”

Three words to describe me are: Passionate, hard-working, social.

I got my start in sports: Playing tee ball with my dad.

I wish I could go: Surfing.

My most memorable moments in sports: All of the varsity basketball games my freshman year and sophomore year and this year’s Homecoming game.

I like about high school sports: Getting to play with my best friends.

I enjoy playing football because: I get to play with and for the best guys and coaches around.

Advice: “Bring the wood.”

My role models are: My mom, Trisha, and dad, Peder.

Most inspirational teammate: Charlie Miller.

My family also includes: My sister, Abby.

Nickname: Erwin.

Words to live by: “Do the work!”

Favorite athlete: JR Smith.

Favorite team: Milwaukee Brewers.

Favorite opponent: Lake Mills

Favorite facility/site to compete in: East Gym at Lakeside Lutheran.

Favorite movie: Anything with Will Ferrell

Favorite TV show: ‘The Office’.

Favorite food: Caleb Raymond’s steak tacos.

Favorite fast food place and/or restaurant: 5 Guys.

Favorite sport on TV: NBA basketball.

Favorite place to visit: Winner’s Edge in Pewaukee.

I want to visit: Mediterranean Sea.

Top three favorite songs: ‘Blessings’ by Chance the Rapper; ‘Meet Virginia’ by Train; ‘Only One’ by Kanye West.

Primary news source: Twitter.

Favorite website: Hudl.com.

I drive: A 2005 Subaru Outback

Dream car: A Mercedes Benz G Wagon.

I can’t live without: My Momma.

I like Lakeside Lutheran High School because: Of it’s family atmosphere.

If I could change anything: Wouldn’t miss three weeks with a knee injury this year.

I wish we could play: Oconomowoc.

I wish I could meet: Stonewall Jackson.

Dream date: Take a girl out for a nice dinner and then come home and play board games with her family.

Dream gift: An English Bulldog preferably named Winston.

Preferred brand of shoe: Adidas.

My perfect day: A Friday night football win and then hanging with the boys.

I like to read: Coach Bauer’s scouting report.

This and that: Member of National Honor Society … volunteer work includes coaching youth football and basketball camps, taking a Mission trip to Boise, Idaho … member of High Honor Roll throughout high school … played AAU basketball with the Wisconsin Crusaders.

Hobbies: Sleeping.

Post-high school plans: Attend a four-year college to study business and to play basketball or football.

Did you know? I live 40 minutes from school in Oconomowoc.

Career goal: Sports business.