NBA announces list of referees for NBA Finals

First Take makes its NBA Finals picks (2:04)

Stephen A. Smith and Max Kellerman make their picks on who will win the NBA Finals. (2:04)

The NBA has assigned 12 referees with an average of 22 years of NBA experience to officiate the much-anticipated NBA Finals showdown between the Golden State Warriors and Cleveland Cavaliers.

The NBA announced its roster of officials who earned spots to referee the 2017 Finals, led by Danny Crawford, who will officiate his 23rd NBA Finals. Five of the 12 selected have officiated in at least 15 Finals games.

“The Finals is the pinnacle for our officials, just as it is for our teams, coaches and players,” Byron Spruell, NBA president of league operations, said in a statement. “Earning this opportunity is a testament to each official’s work ethic and unwavering commitment to their profession.”

Referees selected for the Finals are chosen by the NBA Referee Operations management based on performance throughout the 2017 playoffs. Mike Callahan (14th Finals), Ken Mauer (12th), Scott Foster (10th), Monty McCutchen (9th), Derrick Stafford (7th), Tony Brothers (6th), Marc Davis (6th), James Capers (6th), Ed Malloy (5th), Zach Zarba (4th) and John Goble (1st) join Crawford to officiate the Finals.

Tom Washington and Sean Wright will serve as alternates. The officiating crew for each game is announced the morning of each game.