Non-AQ players earn more award recognition

Posted by ESPN.com’s Graham Watson

Several players from nonautomatic qualifying teams have been named finalists for a couple awards this week.

TCU defensive end Jerry Hughes was named one of four finalists for the Rotary Lombardi Award, which is given annually to the nation’s top college football lineman. Hughes has 10.5 tackles for loss, nine sacks and 41 tackles. Hughes is also a semifinalist for the Chuck Bednarik Award and the Lott Trophy.

Central Michigan quarterback Dan LeFevour, Rice safety Andrew Sendejo, Western Michigan quarterback Tim Hiller, Utah offensive lineman Zane Beadles and Temple safety Dominique Harris have been named finalists for the Wuerffel Trophy.

The award is named after former Heisman Trophy winner Danny Wuerffel, who led the Florida Gators to the 1996 national championship. It honors the college football player who best combines exemplary community service with outstanding academic and athletic achievement.