Herschel Walker wins coaches poll for top college football player ever

Former Georgia great Herschel Walker was voted the greatest college football player of all time in ESPN’s weekly coaches poll.

Walker edged out another running back, Ohio State’s Archie Griffin, for top honors. Finishing third through fifth were running backs Barry Sanders of Oklahoma State, Bo Jackson of Auburn and Earl Campbell of Texas.

Florida quarterback Tim Tebow, who was the youngest player to receive a vote, was sixth.

Of the 128 FBS coaches, 97 participated in this week’s poll.

The top six finishers were all Heisman Trophy winners: Walker (1982), Griffin (1974 and 1975), Sanders (1988), Jackson (1985), Campbell (1977) and Tebow (2007).

Rounding out the top 10 vote-getters were Syracuse’s Jim Brown, Carlisle’s Jim Thorpe, Notre Dame’s Rocket Ismail and Pitt’s Tony Dorsett, who won the 1976 Heisman.

Other Heisman winners who received votes but finished outside the top 10 included Michigan’s Charles Woodson (1997), Boston College’s Doug Flutie (1984), USC’s Marcus Allen (1981), Nebraska’s Johnny Rodgers (1972) and Navy’s Roger Staubach (1963).

Nebraska center Dave Rimington, who was the only offensive lineman to be named Big Eight Offensive Player of the Year and was a two-time Outland Trophy winner, was the only offensive lineman to receive a vote from the coaches.