'O'klahoma schools power Big 12 All-Bowl team

The Big 12 collectively had a rather successful bowl showing, thanks to several notable individual performances. Below, we honor those with our 2016 Big 12 All-Bowl team:


QB: Mason Rudolph, Oklahoma State. Not long after announcing that he would be returning for his senior season, Rudolph shredded one of the Pac-12's top defenses. In the 38-8 victory over Colorado in the Valero Alamo Bowl, Rudolph passed for 314 yards and three touchdowns.

RB: Samaje Perine, Oklahoma. In his final game for the Sooners, Perine broke Billy Sims' Oklahoma career rushing record, as the Sooners pasted Auburn in the Allstate Sugar Bowl, 35-19. Perine rushed for 86 yards and a touchdown to finish his career with 4,122 yards.

RB: Joe Mixon, Oklahoma. Controversy aside, Mixon carved up the Auburn defense with 91 yards rushing, 89 yards receiving and two touchdowns.

WR: KD Cannon, Baylor: Cannon finished his college career with a dominant performance in the Motel 6 Cactus Bowl. In Baylor's resounding 31-12 win over Boise State, Cannon led the way with 14 receptions for a Baylor bowl record 226 yards and a pair of touchdowns.

WR: James Washington, Oklahoma State: Colorado All-Pac 12 cornerback Chidobe Awuzie had no answer for Washington, who obliterated the Buffs for 171 yards receiving and a touchdown.

TE: Mark Andrews, Oklahoma. Andrews had three catches for 68 yards. His 13-yard touchdown grab in the second quarter got the Oklahoma offense rolling after a stagnant first quarter.

OT: Scott Frantz, Kansas State. In K-State's 33-28 AdvoCare V100 Texas Bowl victory over Texas A&M, Frantz put the clamps on All-American Myles Garrett. The future NFL first-rounder managed just one assisted tackle in one of the quietest performances of his A&M career. Frantz was a major reason why.

OT: Orlando Brown Jr., Oklahoma. Brown set the tone for the Sooners up front, as Oklahoma proved to be more physical than its SEC counterpart. The Sooners averaged 5.3 yards per rush and dominated the game in the offensive trenches.

OG: Ben Powers, Oklahoma. Powers teamed up with Brown to ignite the Oklahoma running game, which resulted in 228 yards rushing in a balanced attack.

OG: Marcus Keyes, Oklahoma State. The Cowboys handled Colorado up front, as the Pokes rolled up 527 yards of offense. Keyes, who was a bright spot for the Cowboys along the line this season, helped pave the way for Justice Hill and Chris Carson to total 161 rushing yards.

C: Kyle Fuller, Baylor. Fuller's steadiness up front played a big role in the Baylor offense coming together again in the Cactus Bowl. Quarterback Zach Smith threw for 375 yards and three touchdowns, while the Baylor ground game churned out 140 yards.


DE: Jordan Willis. Kansas State. Though he didn't put up the big numbers like he had all season, the Big 12 Defensive Player of the Year constantly wreaked havoc in the Texas A&M backfield, as he outperformed Garrett.

DT: Vincent Taylor, Oklahoma State. Before declaring for the draft, Taylor once again was a load in the middle for the Cowboys. He finished with a team-high seven tackles and a sack, as the Buffs rushed for just 62 yards on 29 carries.

DT: Tyrone Hunt, Baylor. Hunt earned Cactus Bowl defensive MVP honors with five tackles and his first two career sacks.

DE: Noble Nwachukwu, West Virginia. Nwachukwu finished his Mountaineers career with six tackles and a pair of quarterback hurries, as West Virginia forced Miami into six straight punts to start the game before the Hurricanes pulled away in the Russell Athletic Bowl, 31-14.

LB: Caleb Kelly, Oklahoma. The true freshman showed in the Sugar Bowl why he's the future of the Oklahoma defense, recording 12 tackles and a tackle for loss.

LB: Taylor Young, Baylor: Young tied a career-high with 17 tackles while setting the Cactus Bowl tackles record.

LB: Elijah Lee, Kansas State: Lee spearheaded K-State's defensive effort with 12 tackles, tied for the third-most in the school's bowl history. He also added a tackle for loss.

CB: Ashton Lampkin, Oklahoma State. For the second straight year, Lampkin picked off a pass in a bowl. This time, he intercepted the Buffs near the goal line after Colorado tried to catch the Pokes off-guard late in the first half with a reverse flea-flicker. After the Lampkin pick, the Buffs never generated momentum again.

CB: Jordan Thomas, Oklahoma. Thomas thwarted Auburn's attempt at a desperation rally, picking off a jump ball in the end zone after juggling the pass between his hands. Thomas added five tackles.

S: Niko Small, TCU. Despite the 31-23 loss to Georgia, Small was named TCU's outstanding defensive player in the AutoZone Liberty Bowl. Small finished with a team-best and career-high 12 tackles.

S: Orion Stewart, Baylor. In the Cactus Bowl, Stewart produced his sixth interception of the season. He added two tackles for loss, a sack and a fumble recovery.


K: Ian Patterson, Kansas State. Patterson nailed both of his attempts, including a 40-yarder, which proved crucial in the five-point win over the Aggies.

P: Zach Sinor, Oklahoma State. Sinor once again was fabulous for the Pokes, as he helped Oklahoma State control field position in the Alamo Bowl. Sinor punted four times for an average of 47.8 yards, with his first two punts ending inside the Colorado 10 and the third bouncing out of bounds inside the 20.

Returner: KaVontae Turpin, TCU. Turpin had a 50-yard kickoff return and a 35-yarder which set up the Horned Frogs' final touchdown against Georgia.