TCU's Hughes adds more honors

TCU defensive end Jerry Hughes continues to rack up the postseason honors.

This past weekend, Hughes was named the 2009 recipient of the Lott Trophy, which is given to the nation’s defensive IMPACT player of the year, and he was also named to the 2009 FWAA All-American team.

The Lott Trophy is the first college football award to equally recognize athletic performance and the personal character attributes of the player. TCU will receive $25,000 for its general scholarship fund for the award.

Hughes was named the 2009 Hendricks Award winner earlier in the week. That award is given to the nation’s top defensive lineman.

The FWAA All-American honor is the third major All-American team Hughes has been named to so far this season. He was also a Walter Camp All-American and an American Football Coaches Association first team All-American.

Joining Hughes on the FWAA All-American list are three other nonautomatic qualifying players. Bowling Green receiver Freddie Barnes, Utah offensive lineman Zane Beadles and Idaho offensive lineman Mike Iupati also were named first-team performers.