Poll: 2011 Big Ten offensive player of year

We round out the day of polling with a look at the Big Ten's offensive player of the year race.

For the second consecutive year, the Big Ten returns its reigning offensive POY. Wisconsin running back John Clay wasn't able to repeat as the winner after claiming the award in 2009. Indiana running back Anthony Thompson is the only player to win Big Ten offensive player of the year in consecutive seasons (1988-89).

Michigan quarterback Denard Robinson can change things with another superb season this fall. Robinson set the NCAA quarterback rushing record with 1,702 yards in 2010, became the first player in FBS history to record 2,500 pass yards and 1,500 rush yards in the same season, and also set several Michigan marks. But the Wolverines junior is transitioning to a new offense that might present some challenges.

Northwestern quarterback Dan Persa is another leading candidate after rehabbing from a ruptured Achilles' that cut short his 2010 season. Persa set a Big Ten record for completion percentage (73.5 percent) and will lead what could be one of the league's best offenses this season.

Not to be forgotten is Michigan State quarterback Kirk Cousins, who enters his third season as a starter after leading the Spartans to a share of their first Big Ten title in two decades. Cousins battled through injuries during the second half of last season. At full strength, he could have a huge year.

Don't forget about the Big Ten running backs in this race. Wisconsin has two of the best in Montee Ball and James White, who could end up competing against each other for the award.

What say you?