Non-AQ players to watch

We have seen several watch lists come out over the past few days. Just wanted to point out a few of the non-AQ players who have been dubbed players to watch:

Bednarik Award, top defensive player in the nation

LB Tanner Brock, TCU

LB Tank Carder, TCU

DE Vinny Curry, Marshall

DE Jonathan Massaquoi, Troy

DT Roosevelt Nix, Kent State

LB Korey Williams, Southern Miss

DT Billy Winn, Boise State

Comment: The top defensive players in those respective conferences are represented. Carder should be a finalist and a first-team All-American. Players like Massaquoi and Nix are completely underrated and deserve this type of recognition.

Biletnikoff Award, top receiver in the nation

Cole Beasley, SMU

Kelvin Bolden, Southern Miss

Josh Boyce, TCU

Patrick Edwards, Houston

Ladarius Green, Louisiana

Noel Grigsby, San Jose State

Nick Harwell, Miami (Ohio)

T.Y. Hilton, FIU

Damaris Johnson, Tulsa

Darius Johnson, SMU

Kamar Jorden, Bowling Green

Lance Lewis, East Carolina

Rishard Matthews, Nevada

Eric Page, Toledo

Royce Pollard, Hawaii

Tyler Shoemaker, Boise State

Jordan White, Western Michigan

Cody Wilson, Central Michigan

Comment: SMU was one of seven schools with multiple nominees and the only non-AQ school. It makes sense, considering the type of offense the Mustangs run. Hopes are high for Kyle Padron to have a breakout season. Shoemaker being on the list is interesting -- clearly folks believe he will be able to step right in for Titus Young and Austin Pettis. He has the best shot of all the Broncos receivers.

Mackey Award, given to best tight end

Jack Doyle, Western Kentucky

Kyle Efaw, Boise State

Ladarius Green, Louisiana

Lucas Reed, New Mexico

Evan Rodriguez, Temple

Luke Willson, Rice

Comment: Green should be a finalist for this award.

Maxwell Award, given to best player in college football

QB Dominique Davis, East Carolina

QB Chandler Harnish, Northern Illinois

RB Jared Hassin, Army

RB Ronnie Hillman, San Diego State

WR Damaris Johnson, Tulsa

QB Case Keenum, Houston

QB Ryan Lindley, San Diego State

RB Zach Line, SMU

RB Doug Martin, Boise State

QB Bryant Moniz, Hawaii

QB Kellen Moore, Boise State

RB Bobby Rainey, Western Kentucky

RB Ed Wesley, TCU

Comment: Moore should be a finalist for this award the way he was last season. Nice to see non-AQ players like Rainey get some recognition here. He was the top non-AQ player in rushing yards last season. Having Hassin on the list was a good choice, too. He had an outstanding season last year and should only be better in 2011.