Irish players on preseason award lists

A flurry of college football award preseason watch lists have come out in the past month. Watch lists don't really mean a whole lot -- Cam Newton, Nick Fairley and Justin Blackmon weren't on any last year and took home a lot of hardware -- but they are an honor based on how the nominating committee feels about a player's ability.

With that in mind, here are the Notre Dame players who made preseason watch lists and who honored them:

Michael Floyd, WR: Biletnikoff, Walter Camp and Maxwell awards

Manti Te’o, LB: Rotary Lombardi, Bednarik, Nagurski and Butkus awards

Dayne Crist, QB: Davey O’Brien and Maxwell awards

Harrison Smith, S: Thorpe and Nagurski awards

Braxston Cave, C: Rimington Trophy

Cierre Wood, RB: Doak Walker Award

Darius Fleming, LB: Butkus Award

David Ruffer, K: Lou Groza Award

Tyler Eifert, TE: John Mackey Award

Zack Martin, OT: Outland Trophy