Boise State picked to win MWC

Boise State is going into its first year in the Mountain West as the favorite to win the league.

A panel of media members selected the Broncos to finish first, ahead of defending champion TCU. Air Force was picked to finish third, followed by San Diego State. Boise State got 28 of 31 first-place votes.

Boise State quarterback Kellen Moore was selected as the preseason Offensive Player of the Year, TCU linebacker Tank Carder was picked as the Defensive Player of the Year, and Air Force kickoff specialist Jonathan Warzeka was picked as Special Teams Player of the Year.

Here is the complete predicted order of finish with first-place votes:

1. Boise State (28)

2. TCU (3)

3. Air Force

4. San Diego State

5. Colorado State

6. Wyoming


8. New Mexico

Here is the complete preseason first team:

Mountain West preseason team


QB Kellen Moore, Boise State

RB Ronnie Hillman, San Diego State

RB Doug Martin, Boise State

WR Phillip Payne, UNLV

WR Josh Boyce, TCU

OL Nate Potter, Boise State

OL A.J. Wallerstein, Air Force

OL Kyle Dooley, TCU

OL Thomas Byrd, Boise State

OL Paul Madsen, Colorado State

TE Lucas Reed, New Mexico


DL Billy Wynn, Boise State

DL Shea McClellin, Boise State

DL Stansly Maponga, TCU

DL Josh Biezuns, Wyoming

LB Tank Carder, TCU

LB Mychal Sisson, Colorado State

LB Miles Burris, San Diego State

DB George Iloka, Boise State

DB Leon McFadden, San Diego State

DB Anthony Wright, Air Force

DB Jon Davis, Air Force

Special teams

P Brian Stahovich, San Diego State

PK James Aho, New Mexico

RS Jonathan Warzeka, Air Force