Eight make Unitas watch list

Posted by ESPN.com's Graham Watson
Eight quarterbacks from the nonautomatic qualifying schools were named to the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award watch list this week.

The award is given annually to the top senior quarterback and recognizes not only exceptional play on the field, but also character, citizenship, integrity and honor of the game.

Past winners of the award include Peyton Manning, Eli Manning, Matt Leinart and Brady Quinn.

In the 21 years of the award, only two non-major conference quarterbacks have won -- Louisville's Chris Redman in 1999 and Fresno State's David Carr in 2001.

Twenty-one total quarterbacks made the 2009 preseason list. Below are the non-AQ representatives: