Pac-12 superlative tracker

Tracking the offensive, defensive and coach of the year races in the Pac-12.

For a more thorough look at offense, re-read our Heisman Trophy update.

Offensive player of the year

1. Andrew Luck, QB, Stanford: Luck ranks third in the nation in passing efficiency. He has completed 71 percent of his passes for 286.5 yards per game with 18 touchdowns and three interceptions. He's also rushed for 60 yards and a touchdown and caught a 13-yard pass with one hand.

2. LaMichael James, RB, Oregon: James sat out the Arizona State game with a dislocated elbow. He still ranks first in the nation with 170.4 yards per game.

3. Keith Price, QB, Washington: Price has 21 touchdown passes this season, which is tied for second in the nation and already tied for fourth most in program history. He ranks fifth in the nation in passing efficiency and second in the Pac-12.

4. Chris Polk, RB, Washington: Polk ranks seventh in the nation in rushing with 121.3 yards per game.

Defensive player of the year

1. Chase Thomas, LB, Stanford: Thomas leads the conference with 5.5 sacks and is third with 8.0 tackles for a loss. He's tied for third on the team with 25 tackles. He's also forced three fumbles.

2. Mychal Kendricks, LB, California: Kendricks leads the conference with 8.5 tackles per game. He also has five tackles for a loss

3. Vontaze Burfict, LB, Arizona State: Burfict ranks third on the Sun Devils with 36 tackles, with 5.5 TFL and four sacks. He also has an interception and four passes defended.

Coach of the year

1. Dennis Erickson, Arizona State: Even with the loss at Oregon, the Sun Devils have overcome injuries and continue to be the South Division favorites.

2. Steve Sarkisian, Washington: The Huskies are 5-1 and ranked. The program has taken big steps in Year 3 with Sarkisian.

3. David Shaw, Stanford: So far, it's difficult to tell much difference in Jim Harbaugh's Cardinal and David Shaw's version. Other than no post-game controversies with other coaches.

4. Chip Kelly, Oregon: Kelly's Ducks are again in position to win the conference title, their third in a row.

5. Paul Wulff, Washington State: Wulff should get consideration if he leads the Cougars to a bowl game.