Non-AQs highlight Manning Award watch list

Posted by ESPN.com's Graham Watson
The Manning Award announced Monday that 14 players from the nonautomatic qualifying schools were named to its award watch list.

The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in honor of the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that takes into consideration the candidates' bowl performances.

At least one quarterback from each of the five non-AQ conferences is represented. More quarterbacks could be added to the list throughout the season depending on their play.

The Manning Award only has been around for four seasons and none of the selections have been from a non-AQ conference. However, each of the four selections have gone on to be a top 10 draft pick in the NFL.

Ten finalists will be selected by Nov. 30. The winner will be announced on Thursday, Jan. 14.

2009 Manning Award Watch List

Levi Brown (Sr., Troy)
Andy Dalton (Sr., TCU)
Austin Davis (So., Southern Miss)
Max Hall (Sr., BYU)
Tim Hiller (Sr., Western Michigan)
Colin Kaepernick (Jr., Nevada)
Case Keenum (Jr., Houston)
Dan LeFevour (Sr., Central Michigan)
Corey Leonard (Sr., Arkansas State)
Ryan Lindley (So., San Diego State)
Kellen Moore (So., Boise State)
Tyler Sheehan (Sr., Bowling Green)
Rusty Smith (Sr., Florida Atlantic)
Trevor Vittatoe (Jr., UTEP)