Sumlin, Keenum win C-USA awards

Houston coach Kevin Sumlin picked up Conference USA coach of the year honors Wednesday, while quarterback Case Keenum was selected as the league's most valuable player.

Sumlin guided the Cougars to a 12-1 record, a West Division title an No. 6 national ranking before they lost to Southern Miss in the Conference USA championship game.

Keenum became the first two-time winner of the MVP award after breaking NCAA records for career passing yardage (18,685), total offense (19,572), touchdown passes (152), total touchdowns (175), completions (1,501) and 300-yard games (38).

The other award winners:

Offensive Player of the Year: Houston WR Patrick Edwards

Defensive Player of the Year: Marshall DE Vinny Curry

Special Teams Player of the Year: Houston KR Tyron Carrier

Freshman of the Year: East Carolina LB Jeremy Grove

Newcomer of the Year: Houston DB D.J. Hayden