Arkansas football to be honored Saturday

The 2011 college football season, but that won't stop Arkansas' football team from revisiting its success one last time.

The team will be recognized for its tremendous 2011 season Saturday during halftime of Arkansas' men's basketball game against No. 20 Michigan. Coach Bobby Petrino will also be presented with the 2012 Field Scovell Trophy as the AT&T Cotton Bowl champion. Quarterback Tyler Wilson will be recognized for earning the J. Curtis Sanford Offensive MVP Trophy, and defensive end Jake Bequette will be presented with the Felix McKnight Defensive MVP Trophy.

And the Razorbacks should have one last opportunity to bask in 2011. Arkansas spent the season in the shadow of Alabama and LSU, but probably would have changed a lot with a win against LSU in Baton Rouge, La., at the end of the season. The Hogs rose to as high as third in the BCS standings, and beating Kansas State in the AT&T Cotton Bowl tied a school record with 11 wins in a single season and produced the program’s first top-five finish since 1977.

Alabama and LSU might have been at the top of the SEC, but Arkansas wasn't far behind in 2011. The Hogs didn't let injuries to key players and positions derail their season. Getting 11 wins without a running back (Knile Davis) that could have been one of the top players at his position in 2011 is pretty impressive. Also, Arkansas' only losses came to eventual national champion Alabama and runner-up LSU -- on the road.

Petrino has had the Hogs on the rise since he arrived in Fayetteville, and while the focus will continue to be on Alabama and LSU in 2012, Arkansas can't be overlooked.