MWC releases 2012 schedule

The Mountain West released its 2012 schedule on Friday, featuring three new league members and 14 games against teams from automatic qualifying conferences.

The biggie, of course, is Boise State's season opener at Michigan State. The Broncos play three of their former WAC foes, who join the conference for this season -- Nevada, Hawaii and Fresno State. The game against Nevada is Thanksgiving weekend, an interesting date for sure. It was Thanksgiving weekend in 2010 when Nevada pulled its major upset on the Broncos.

The Mountain West features 10 teams this season with an eight-game league schedule, so every team won't play each other. In its final season in the MWC, Boise State skips Air Force on its schedule. Here is a breakdown of the other MWC teams that won't play each other:

Colorado State + Nevada

Hawaii + Wyoming

New Mexico + San Diego State

Fresno State + UNLV

Also of note, the annual Border War between Colorado State and Wyoming will not conclude the regular-season schedule for the first time since 2006.